Hickory Ridge hosts Flag Tournament

Contributed Story Posted 16 July 2018 at 8:23 am

Contributed Photo – Craig Hazen and Jan Palmer won the Hickory Ridge Flag Tournament.

The Hickory Ridge Golf Association recently held its annual Flag Tournament on the most appropriate date of July 4.

The format for the handicapped tournament is each player is given a flag to start the tournament.  Players then add their handicap to course par to get their number.  When you have reached that number on your score, you plant your flag.

The winner is determined by whose flag the furthest number of holes out on the course.   This year’s winners were Craig Hazen and Jan Palmer.  It took them both 20 holes to plant their flags.

In Ladies Late Tuesday League play this past week, Deb Wood again scoring low gross with a 38.  Laurie Freeman had low net with a 29.  Mary Guzik had the only birdie of the week.

Wood and Jan Palmer continue to lead the league.  Aleta Martin and Diane Hennekey are in second, Judy Schuth and Brenda Powers occupy third..  Cheryl Ferguson and Vicki Brawn and Deb Birkins and Patti Pfister round out the top five.

The Men’s Traveling Thursday League still have Ray Daniels and Ken Hinkson leading.  Second is Pete Kaiser and Steve Tipton.  Dave Fisher and Tom Hennecky occupy third place.  Adam Dresser and Ben Flansburg are in fourth and Wes Bedford and Zach Burgess hold down fifth.  Luke Wrobleski had an eagle and Chris Barry scored two birdies.  Low gross was Ray Daniels with a 40 and Wrobleski had low net with a 30.