Hickory Ridge holds Mixed Scramble Tourney

Contributed Story Posted 27 June 2023 at 9:01 am

Contributed Photo – Hickory Ridge’s 4 – Person Scramble winners were, from left, Barb McIntyre, Diane Colsanti, Larry Powers and Deb Wood.

The Hickory Ridge Golf Association had another one of their ten tournaments for members of the association and club this past week featuring a 4 person mixed scramble format.

Finishing in first was the team of Deb Wood, Larry Powers, Diane Colsanti and Barb McIntyre with a 68. They finished one stroke ahead of Aleta Martin, Clark Brooks, Marcia Zambito and Dave Cotter who tied with a 69 with Marty Martin, Dick Taylor and Jeff and Bonnie Dobson.

The Tuesday Ladies Night Out league reports a low gross of 42 by Kathy Babbitt with 42. Close behind was Diane Abel with a 44. Low net was Babbitt with 34 and Able with 35. Eileen Snyder had the only birdie on the night.

Deb Wood and Aleta Martin lead the standings with 48 points. Cheryl Ferguson and Vicki Brawn hold second with 42 points and Diane Henley and Judy Schuth are in third with 24.5 points.

The Pete Sullivan Sr. league reported an 18 hole low gross of 75 shared By John True and Dan Morphet.Low net was Dave Bieber with 62. Closest to the pin on #18 was Dana Vosburgh at 4’2”. Closest second shot on #4 was Morphet with 11’ 9”. Birdies were reported by Tru, Vosburgh, Jeff Dobson, Rich Wheeler and Duane Engle.

A reminder to all Sr league golfers, the three club tournament along with the second picnic of the year will be July 6. It will be a low gross and low net event.

The Thursday Men’s Traveling league shuffled the league standings this past week. Molisani and Soria lead with 124 points. Flansberg-Stalker are in second with 116 points while Denniston-Draper are third with 112 points.

Barry Flansberg had low gross with 39. Jim Peglow was low net with 29. Corey Stalker scored the first eagle for the league this year when he holed out for a 3 on the par 5 number 1. Stalker also recorded a birdie as did Kevin Lach, Randy Van Houten, Jason Schrader and Josh Bennett.