Hawks win Holley Team Tournament

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 5 December 2015 at 12:00 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Holley’s Eric Balys works against Dylan Ladd of Campbell-Savonna during the host Hawks Team Tournament win today.

Compiling a 5-0 record, the host Hawks took top honors at the annual Holley Team Tournament today.

Holley defeated Williamsville North 37-26 to capture the title.

The Hawks also defeated Campbell-Savonna 51-29, Eastridge 60-22, Canisius 51-24 and Holley ‘B’ 75-6.

Representing Holley on the All-Tournament team were Nick Shenck, Dalton Moyer, Patrick Purtell, Ross Pinson, Cameron Thorn and Austin Vroman.

Shenck, Dalton Moyer, Purtell, Pinson and Thorn all went 5-0 on the day while Vroman, Clarence Moyer, Chris Yockel and Zach Day were 4-1 and Eric Balys 3-2.

Chris Yockel of Holley in action against Dillon Cook of Campbell-Savonna.

Albion places second at Depew Tourney

Going 4-1 on the day, Albion earned second place honors at the Depew Tournament.

Depew downed Albion 48-33 in the title deciding match.

The Purple Eagles defeated Williamsville East 57-24, Kenmore West 48-30, Lackawanna 58-22 and Maryvale 57-18.

Blake Aina, Jordan Wolcott, Preston Flugel and Cade Aina all went 5-0 on the day for Albion which is now 4-2 on the young season.

The Purple Eagles will host rival Medina on Wednesday to open the Niagara-Orleans League season.

Lyndonville at Tonawanda Duals

Tom Follman and Dustin Hinkley both posted 7-0 records for Lyndonville at the Tonawanda Duals as Jeff Gress Jr., Garren Bayne and Dustin Joy all went 6-1.

The Tigers went 2-5 as a team defeating Starpoint 52-26 and Amherst 46-42 but losing to Tonawanda 43-34, West Seneca West 42-27, Newfane 42-15, Clarence 53-27 and North Tonawanda 45-39.

Medina competes at B-B Tourney

Medina’s Charles Beach took top honors in the 220 lb. weight class at the Byron-Bergen Tournament today winning his title bout with a pin in 1:13. He went 4-0 on the day.

In the JV competition Medina had Bobby Geiger and Austin Cox both place second and Da’Ron Bellan fourth.