GO Art! will honor Lisa Roeseler, retiring Medina music teacher

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 16 April 2018 at 8:35 pm

Bryan DeGraw, owner of 810 Meadworks, finalist for an award

Lisa Roeseler

BATAVIA – The Genesee-Orleans Regional Arts Council will present its first Genean Awards on April 28, and a Medina music teacher will receive the artist of the year.

Lisa Roeseler, a music teacher and director of Medina High School’s A’Cappella Choir, will be recognized with the individual artist award on April 28 during GO Art!’s celebration at its historic building, 201 East Main St.

Roeseler started at her career in Medina as a music teacher Towne Primary School in September 1986 and moved to the High School in September 1987. She has been a popular teacher at Medina, with her vocal ensembles performing in the community, especially the annual holiday concert by the A‘Capella Choir at St. Mary’s Catholic Church.

When she started, she had 17 students in Mixed Chorus and 43 in A’Cappella. The Mixed Chorus now averages 85 to 90 students and A’Cappella now averages 92 to 100.

The debut Genean Awards will honor the Genesee Chorale as Organization of the Year.

An Orleans County resident is a finalist for the Supporter (of the cultural sector) of the Year. The award will go to either Bryan DeGraw, co-owner 810 Meadworks; Diana Kastenbaum, owner of Pinnacle Manufacturing in Batavia; or Brian Kemp, owner of T-Shirts Etc. in Batavia.

File photo by Tom Rivers: Bryan DeGraw, co-owner of 810 Meadworks with his wife LaRissa, is pictured in the tasting room of the business at 113 West Center St., Medina.

DeGraw and his wife LaRissa opened 810 Meadworks in downtown Medina on Nov. 30, 2014. They make mead products and have a tasting room. The DeGraws also have run a concert series at the “beegarten” in the back of the building at 113 West Center St.

GO Art! wanted to create its own unique awards “like the Oscars or Tony awards for GENesee and OrlEANs Counties, to recognize a few of the amazing people and organizations we have within our counties,” said Gregory Hallock, executive director.

The awards will be presented during a Swing Fling, April 28, from 7 to 10 p.m. For more information, click here.

Return to top