G-R All-Star honors for Orleans quintet

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 13 June 2019 at 10:30 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Lyndonville’s trio of Alecia Hinkson, Stacy Buckland and Anna Lewis along with Holley’s Jocelyn Chilton have earned Geensee Region League softball All-Star honors.

Division II champion Lyndonville has a trio of Genesee Region League softball All-Stars in outfielders Alecia Hinkson and Anna Lewis and pitcher Stacy Buckland, all seniors.

The local G-R All-Star contingent also includes Holley senior catcher Jocelyn Chilton and Kendall junior shortstop Brittney Marks.

Brittney Marks is Kendall’s G-R All-Star.

Hinkson hit. 435 with 7 doubles, 1 triple and 29 RBI; Lewis .387 with 5 doubles, 3 triples and 17 RBI and Buckland .365 with 2 doubles and 1 triple. In the circle, she went 7-0 and had an earned run average of .228.

Chilton hit.368 with 2 doubles and 14 RBI and defensively had 27 assists and putouts.

Marks hit .456 with 4 doubles, 1 triple, 13 RBI and 21 runs scored.

Lyndonville also had a trio of players earn Honorable Mention including senior third baseman Cassie Boyce, freshman first baseman/pitcher Gracie Johnson and pitcher/shortstop Lorelei Dillenbeck who is an eighth grader.

Holley is represented on the Honorable Mention list by senior pitcher Madison Marsh and sophomore shortstop Halee Passarell and Kendall by first baseman Kelly Mayes and outfielder Anna Oakley, both seniors.

The first team also includes outfielder Lindsay Czechowski, catcher Jordin Cecere and infielder Kayla Yax from Alexander; catcher Kacey Pearce and outfielder Claudia Hardie from Attica; pitcher Kendall Phillips from Byron-Bergen; catcher Lauryn Engle from Elba; infielders Audrey Farrell and Callie McCulley from Notre Dame; infielder Caitlin Ryan and catcher Brianna Smith from Oakfield-Alabama; pitcher Allie Schwerthoffer, infielder Mackenna Johnson, outfielder Dekari Moss and catcher Sarai-Lynn Dixon from Pembroke and pitcher Nissa Burch from Wheatland-Chili.

Schwerthoffer was Named Player of the Year and Pembroke’s Ron Funke Coach of the Year.

The Honorable Mention selections also include: Mikayla Hickey from Alexander, Mary Weber from Attica, Abby Vurraro, Rebecca Velasco and Ally Ball from Byron-Bergen, Kelsea Augello and Madison Howard from Elba, Abby Pingrey from Notre Dame, Tori Mandel and Alison Woodward from Oakfield-Alabama and Casey Wurtz from Pembroke.