G-R caps cage season with sweep over N-O

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 18 March 2017 at 10:12 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – The girls squad scored an exciting 64-62 overtime victory igniting the Genesee Region League to a doubleheader sweep over the Niagara-Orleans League in the 18th annual Exceptional Senior twin bill Friday night at Medina. In the front row are Tatiana Draper (Elba), Carly Bogue (Elba), Lizzie Rath (Kendall) and Olivia George (Alexander). In the middle row are Alyssa Meyer (Attica), Meaghan Kogut (Elba), Daniela Volkmar (Kendall), Aubrey Lewis (Lyndonville), Emily Stenson (Attica) and Hailey Hubbard (Byron-Bergen). In the back row are Makenzie Muck (Lyndonville), Hannah Scarborough (Oakfield-Alabama), Emily Weber (Attica), Riley D’Alba (Oakfield-Alabama), Karson Richenberg (Byron-Bergen), Marissa Scharlau (Alexander) and Hannah Bowen (Notre Dame).

The G-R boys squad completed the sweep by downing the N-O 91-77 as a late 29-15 scoring surge keyed the victory. In the front row are Ryan Cansdale (Pembroke), Reice Woodward (Oakfield-Alabama), Eric Neace (Lyndonville), Henry Pflaumer (Elba), Tucker Bezon (Elba) and Jordan Miller (Elba). In the back row are Coach Matt Shay from Pembroke, Brian Burke (Byron-Bergen), Brandon Miller (Kendall), Corey Hydock (Lyndonville), Colin Noeth (Byron-Bergen), Owen Thompson (Attica) and Shane O’Hollaran (Elba).

The lineup for the Niagara-Orleans League girls squad included, in front, the Albion quartet of Nikki Eldred, Sierra Chudy, Emily Blanchard and Chanyce Powell. In back are Jen Darlak, Rachel Senek and Kayla Neumann from Wilson, Olivia Littman from Newfane, Molley Gross and Emily Kams from Medina, Emily Annable and Lydia Dewart from Barker and coach Lucian Price from Albion.

The N-O boys squad’s lineup included, in front, Lamar Chambers (Albion) and DJ Davis (Roy-Hart). In the middle row are Jake Arnold (Barker), Tyler Howard (Medina), Tyrellis Atkins (Medina), Albert Kramp (Newfane), Justin Daul (Wilson) and Nate Luckman (Barker). In the back row are Eddie Wasnock (Barker), Brendan Hess (Roy-Hart), Austin Ladd (Akron), Jonah Miller (Wilson), Kory Reynolds (Albion), Chase Hall (Albion), Caleb Russell (Newfane) and Coach Tom Forrestel from Medina.