G-R All-Star honors for Orleans trio

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 19 March 2021 at 9:17 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Lyndonville’s Genesee Region League All-Stars Russell Stephens, left, and Nathan Dillenbeck.

A trio of Orleans County players including Lyndonville seniors Nathan Dillenbeck and Russell Stephens and Holley junior Broek Ostrom have been named to the Genesee Region League All-Star basketball team.

Holley’s G-R All-Star Broek Ostrom

Dillenbeck, a four year varsity starter and a three-time G-R All-Star, has also been named G-R Player of the Year. He scored 278 points this season for a 21.4 average  to finish with a Lyndonville career record total of 1,156 points including a record 156 threes. He also had 85 rebounds, 27 steals and 16 assists this season and finished with career totals of 286 rebounds, 181 assists and 152 steals.

Stephens, who has also been a four year varsity player, scored 178 points this season for a 13.7 average and finished with a career total of 548 points. He grabbed a team high 140 rebounds this season, led the Tigers in blocks with 32 and also had 26  assists and 17 steals. He finished with career totals of 377 rebounds, 145 assists, 71 steals and 56 blocks.

Ostrom led Holley in scoring with 181 points for an 18.1 average which including an area high effort of 43 against Elba.

Lyndonville junior Noah Poler, a two year starter, earned G-R Honorable Mention as did Kendall senior Derek Edick.

The G-R All-Star team also includes seniors Ayden Goll and Drew Cusmano from Attica; senior Garrett Totten and sophomore Cayden Pfalzer from Pembroke; senior Jerrod Amesbury from Byron-Bergen; junior Nicholas Kramer from Alexander; senior Travis Weidrich and juniors Kaden Kusmano and Gaige Armbrewster from Oakfield-Alabama; juniors Aaron Lund and Brandon Moore from Wheatlannd-Chili and junior Colin McCulley from Notre Dame.

The Honorable Mention list also includes senior Mark Sanders and sophomore Jimmy Fanara from Notre Dame; sophomore Terry Bayley Henshaw from Wheatland-Chili; senior Peyton Yasses from Oakfield-Alabama; seniors Nick Perl and Ian Romesser from Attica; senior Nick Baubie from Byron-Bergen; senior Devin Dean from Alexander and freshman Tyson Totten from Pembroke.