Football division lineup, schedules released for Albion, Medina, Barker/R-H

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 25 March 2015 at 12:00 am

For the seventh year in a row Albion and Medina will have some new division foes when the high school football season starts this fall.

With Bennett dropping into Class C, the remaining 18 Class B schools have been split into three six team divisions (East, West and South).

The new Class B lineup has Albion and Medina in the East Division along with Barker/Roy-Hart, Alden, Depew and East Aurora/Holland.

The West Division will include Newfane, Lew-Port, Burgard, Maryvale, Cheektowaga and Tonawanda while the South Division will be comprised of Pioneer, Olean, Springville, Dunkirk, Fredonia and Eden/North Collins.

This past year Albion, Medina, Barker/Roy-Hart were in the B North Division along with Newfane, Lew-Port, Bennett and Burgard.

The remainder of the Class B lineup had Alden, Depew, Amherst, Cheektowaga, Maryvale and Tonawanda in the Central Division with East Aurora/Holland, Pioneer, Eden/North Collins, Fredonia, Dunkirk, Springvile and Olean in the South Division.

In addition, the first draft of the 2015 Section VI Football Federation schedule has also been released which has Albion and Medina both opening at home and Barker/Roy-Hart on the road with interdivisional games on Sept. 4. Albion will host Newfane and Medina will entertain Lew-Port while Barker/Roy-Hart visits Tonawanda.

The three local teams will then open the B East Division schedule on Sept. 11 with Medina at East Aurora, Albion at Alden and Barker/Roy-Hart at Depew.

Each team will also have a second interdivisional contest during the season as Albion will visit Pioneer on Oct. 2, Medina will host Riverside of Buffalo on Sept. 18 and Barker/Roy-Hart will entertain Eden on Oct. 2.

Albion will host Medina in the traditional rivalry game on Oct. 16 to close out the seven game regular season.

The schedules for the three local teams are as follows:

Sept. 4 – Newfane
Sept. 11- at Alden
Sept. 18 – Depew
Sept. 25 – East Aurora
Oct. 2 – at Pioneer
Oct. 9 – at Barker/Roy-Hart
Oct. 16 – Medina

Sept. 4 – Lew-Port
Sept. 11 – at East Aurora
Sept. 18 – Riverside
Sept. 25 – Barker/Roy-Hart
Oct. 2 – at Alden
Oct. 9 – Depew
Oct. 16 – at Albion

Sept. 4 – at Tonawanda
Sept. 11 – at Depew
Sept. 18 – Alden
Sept. 25 – at Medina
Oct. 2 – Eden
Oct. 9 – Albion
Oct. 16 – at East Aurora