Five teams share in earning first team N-O All-League girls basketball honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 13 March 2022 at 9:38 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – First team N–O All=League honorees Abby Scanlan (Albion) and Ava Owens (Roy-Hart).

Five schools are represented on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League girls basketball squad.

That all senior quintet includes Abby Scanlan (Albion), Ava Owens (Roy-Hart), Ella Hill (Akron), Jensen McGhee (Newfane) and Bella Lemke (Wilson).

Scanlan, who has been named N-O Player of the year, scored 212 points for a 10.6 average and had 83 steals.

Owens scored 194 points and had 94 rebounds, Hill 119 points and 122 rebounds, McGhee 274 points and 200 rebounds and Lemke 328 points and 143 rebounds.

N-O champion Wilson placed two players on the second team in the sophomore duo of Peyton McGinnis and Rian Faery.

The second team also includes Roy-Hart senior Claire Halstead, Medina junior Rylee VanNostrand and Newfane senior Ang DiTullio.

Albion senior Sydney Mulka and sophomore Madison Hughson both received Honorable Mention as did Roy-Hart freshman Kaitlin Mettler and the Akron duo of senior Giahna LaFromboise and junior Sophia Jones.

First team honorees, from left, Ella Hill (Akron), Bella Lemke (Wilson) and Jensen McGhee (Newfane).