Five teams share 1st team All-League honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 5 April 2021 at 9:53 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Barker’s Sydnie Luckman, left, and Roy-Hart’s Shelby Wolf have earned first team Niagara-Orleans All-League honors.

Five schools are represented on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League girls basketball squad.

That all senior quintet includes Akron’s Jessee Jonathan, Barker’s Sydnie Luckman, Roy-Hart’s Shelby Wolf, Wilson’s Megan Musall and Newfane’s Rachel Chunco.

Jonathan, who has been named N-O Player of the Year, and Luckman are both repeat first team honorees.

Jonathan scored 209 points for a 13.0 average and also had 82 steals, 67 rebounds and 42 assists.

Luckman scored 190 points (15.8 ave.) and had 90 rebounds, 22 assists and 18 steals.

Wolf led Roy-Hart in both scoring with 182 points (13.0 ave.) and rebounding with 169. She also hd 28 steals and 23 assists.

Musall had 85 rebounds, 62 points, 57 assists and 29 steals and Chunco 88 points.

Undefeated (11-0) champion Wilson has a trio of second team honorees including seniors Maddy Seeley and Julia Faery and junior Isabella Lemke. Seeley had 96 points and 108 rebounds, Faery 120 points and 70 rebounds and Lemke 135 points, 49 rebounds and 45 steals.

Rounding out the second team are Albion senior Honesty Little and Akron junior Ella Hill. Little led Albion in both scoring with 107 points and rebounding with 135. Hill had 115 points and 105 rebounds.