Five schools share in earning Hub All Orleans County boys basketball team honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 18 March 2022 at 8:24 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s All Orleans County representatives Jarin Rhim, left, and Joe Cecchini.

All five schools are represented on the first team of the Hub’s All Orleans County boys basketball squad.

The first team includes Medina’s duo of Joe Cecchini and Jarin Rhim, Albion’s Jahmeek Riley, Holley’s Broek Ostrom, Lyndonville’s Noah Poler and Kendall’s Zach Barrett who is the team’s sixth man. All are seniors except Barrett who is a junior.

Rhim scored 198 points (10.4 average) and had 171 rebounds, 48 assists and 26 steals while Cecchini scored 189 points (9.9 ave.) and had 104 rebounds, 43 steals and 34 assists.

Riley scored 202 points (10.1 ave.) and had 165 rebounds, 35 assists and 23 steals.

Ostrom led all area scorers with 575 points for a 27.3 per game average. His season included a school record 51 point effort against Alexander as well as three other 40 point plus games and four 30 point plus outings.

Poler was the area’s second high scorer with 348 points for a 17.4 average.

Barrett scored 295 points (13.4 ave/). 87 rebounds, 64 assists and 39 steals.

Earning Honorable Mention is the quintet of Albion senior Tyler Gibson, Albion junior Caleb Fox, Lyndonville junior Trenton Muck, Kendall senior Braxton Zarpentine and Kendall sophomore Jacek Kwiatkowski.

Holley’s Broek Ostrom and Albion’s Jahmeek Riley.

Kendall’s Zach Barrett and Lyndonville’s Noah Poler.