Five N-O schools earn state academic honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 6 August 2022 at 9:28 am

Five of the seven Niagara-Orleans League schools have earned either New York State Public High School Athletic Association School of Distinction or School of Excellence Awards for the 2021-2022 academic year.

Wilson has earned a School of Distinction Award which is given to a school which has 100 percent of its varsity teams earn Scholar/Athlete Team Awards by achieving a composite average of at least 90.

Medina, Roy-Hart, Akron and Newfane have all achieved School of Excellence Awards by having 75 percent of their varsity teams earn Scholar/Athlete Team honors.

In all across the state 86 schools earned School of Distinction Awards and 148 School of Excellence Awards.

“The School of Excellence and School of Distinction Awards highlight the best student-athletes in New York State”, said Dr. Robert Zayas, NYSPHSAA Executive Director. “For 234 member schools to be honored for their commitment to academics as well as athletics is a testament to the outstanding leadership and student-athletes we have in this state.”