Eight teams have champions crowned at Medina’s Gary Gross Memorial Tourney

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 27 January 2018 at 6:02 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Individual weight class champions at today’s Gary Gross Memorial Tournament include, in front, Travis Kauffman and Wyatt Kauffman (Attica/Batavia),Tristyn Moyer (Holley-Kendall), Jesse Pitoni (Churchville-Chili) and Colby Petrie (Medina). In the middle row are Ty Raines (Churchville-Chili), Ian McKenna and Daniel Tauroney (New Hartford), Jeremy Browe (Holley-Kendall) and Cody Fouts (Lew-Port). In the back row are Blake Pariso (Attica/Batavia), Ben Restivo (Albion), Elijah Sones (Medina), Matt Lange (Wilson) and Tambren Bennett (New Hartford).

Eight teams shared in having wrestlers earn championships at Medina’s annual Gary Gross Memorial Wrestling Tournament this afternoon.

The local champions included Colby Petrie (126) and Elijah Sones (195) from Medina, Tristyn Moyer (113) and Jeremy Browe (152) from Holley-Kendall and Ben Restivo (182) from Albion. Browe, who was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler for the upper weight classes, had his day highlighted by a pin over two-time state representative Mason Compton of Attica/Batavia.

Medina’s DaRon Bellan works toward a win over Albion’s Chase Carleton.

Attica/Batavia had a trio of champions in Travis Kauffman (99), Wyatt Kauffman (106) and Blake Pariso (170) as did New Hartford in Ian McKenna (138), Daniel Tauroney (145) and Tambren Bennett (285). McKenna earned the MOW award for the lower weight classes.

Rounding out the list of champions were Cody Fouts (160) of Lew-Port, Matt Lange (220) of Wilson, and Jesse Pitoni (120) and Ty Raines (132) of Churchville-Chili. Pitoni earned the Aggragate Pin Award.

The award for the quickest pin, in just 15 seconds, was shared by Holley-Kendall’s Jayden Pieniaszek and Lyndonville’s Cullen Heveron.

Second place finishers in the round-robin event included Tim Wells (160), Donamic Farley (195) and Cody Wilson (220) from Albion; Jayden Pieniasek (113) and Dylan Spellan (170) from Holley-Kendall; Cullen Heveron (126) from Lyndonville; Allan Schultz (106) from Wilson; Kaden Marucci (120), Eddie Strezelec (145), Mason Compton (152) and Josh Barker (285) from Attica/Batavia along with Nick Williams (99), Joe Sundine (132), Nate Sanborn (138) and Michael DiFlorio (182) from Churchville-Chili.

The third place finishers included Preston Flugel (138), Ugene Harrison (152) and Jessy Cruz (170) from Albion; Dylan Clemons (106) and Cade Aina (145) from Holley-Kendall; DaRon Bellan (132) and Cody Crane (220) from Medina; Trent Reid (99) and Jack Pryce (120) from Lew-Port; Josiah Carnegie (285) from Wilson; Cormac McInTosh (160) from New Hartford along with Quinn Bannister (113), Noah Stachowiak (126), Ethan Jennings (182) and Mason Hinze (195) from Attica/Batavia.

The tournament honors the memory of Gary Gross, the father of Medina Coach Eric Gross, who was a long-time very avid supporter of the Mustangs wrestling program.

Medina’s Colby Petrie works toward a win over Lyndonville’s Cullen Heveron to earn first place honors at 126.