Early voting starts on Saturday for June 23 primaries, special election

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 11 June 2020 at 9:03 am

Orleans County will have nine days of early voting beginning on Saturday at the Board of Elections at the County Administration Building on Route 31 in Albion.

The voting includes all registered voters in a special election to fill a vacancy in the 27 th Congressional District. There are also primaries at the local level, and state and federal positions, including the Democratic Presidential primary.

The County Board of Elections encourages voters to wear a mask for early voting.

The early voting schedule includes:

  • Saturday, June 13, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 14, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
  • Monday, June 15, from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 16, from noon to 8 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 17, from noon to 8 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 18, from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Friday, June 19, from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 20, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 21, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

The elections on the ballot include:

27th Congressional District: The 27th Congressional seat has been vacant since Chris Collins resigned on Sept. 30. Collins was sentenced on Jan. 17 to 26 months in federal prison for participating in a scheme to commit insider trading and for making false statements to federal law enforcement agents when interviewed about his conduct. He also was fined $200,000.

The special election was set for April 28 but was pushed back about two months due to concerns about the coronavirus pandemic.

The special election includes the following candidates:

  • Nathan D. McMurray – Democratic, Working Families
  • Chris Jacobs – Republican, Independence
  • Michael J. Gammariello – Green
  • Duane Whitmer – Libertarian

Republican Primary for 27th District: There will also be a Republican primary on June 23 to see who gets the Republican line in the November election for a full two-year term. Jacobs, Beth Parlato and Erie County Comptroller Stefan Mychajliw are pursuing the Republican line.

• Presidential Primary: A Democratic Presidential primary will go on even though Joe Biden has the nomination secured. His name will be on the ballot, along with other candidates who have withdrawn, including Bernie Sanders, Michael Bloomberg, Pete Buttigieg, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Elizabeth Warren, Michael Bennet, Deval Patrick, Tom Steyer and Andrew Yang.

The local primaries include the Orleans County Clerk, and the Republican Committees in Ridgeway and Murray.

County Clerk: There are two Republican candidates are running for Orleans County Clerk. Nadine Hanlon, the current clerk of the County Legislature, is running against Diane Shampine, the current acting clerk. She assumed the post after Karen Lake-Maynard retired.

Republican Committees in Murray and Ridgeway:

In Murray, there are primaries for three of the districts, with three candidates seeking two positions in District 3, District 5 and District 6.

In District 3, the candidates include Kathleen Case, Anthony Peone and Kerri Neale.

In District 5, the candidates include Lynn Wood, Cynthia Oliver and Ronald Vendetti.

In District 6, the candidates include Kellie Gregoire, Robert Miller and Adam R. Moore.

In Ridgeway, there are three candidates for two positions with District 2 on the Ridgeway Republican Committee. The candidates include Virginia Nicholson, David Stalker and Ayesha Kreutz.

All polling sites will be open in each of the 10 towns on June 23 from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Return to top