Democrats endorse 2 for County Legislature

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 14 June 2017 at 2:25 pm

The Orleans County Democrats have endorsed two candidates for the County Legislature. Incumbent Fred Miller is backed for another two-year term and Al Capurso has been endorsed to run against Don Allport, a Republican in a countywide position.

Miller is seeking a third term. He is the lone Democrat on the seven-member Legislature. Republicans didn’t endorse a candidate to run against Miler, owner of a hardware store in downtown Albion.

“I think Fred has done a good job,” said Jeanne Crane, chairwoman of the Orleans County Democratic Party. “It is rather difficult to be the only on the Legislature who is a Democrat. He is well liked. He is a businessman. He is kind and he does a good job.”

Democrats have backed Capurso, a retired social worker and the current Gaines town historian.

Capurso ran a bait and tackle shop for many years by his Route 279 residence. He has been active in many heritage preservation projects recently, erecting historical markers and working to save old buildings.

“Al has some very good ideas,” Crane said.

The Democrats are working on their platform for county issues. Crane said the party will be active in getting that message across for the November election.

“In all of the towns there seems to be discontent,” she said. “This is a year we need to shine.”

She welcomed others interested in running as a Democrat to give her a call at (585) 737-6903.

Republicans have endorsed Skip Draper, the Shelby town supervisor, to fill a countywide seat that will be vacated by the retiring David Callard. That legislator needs to live in the western end of the county.

The five other Republican incumbents have all been endorsed for new two-year terms, including Lynne Johnson of Lyndonville (District that includes Yates, Ridgeway and portion of Shelby), Bill Eick of Shelby (District that includes most of Shelby, and Barre and Clarendon), John DeFillipps of Clarendon (countywide position from east end), Ken DeRoller of Kendall (District that includes Murray, Kendall and Carlton) and Don Allport of Gaines (countywide position from central Orleans.)

Return to top