Defending champions lock up N-O swim titles

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 18 January 2017 at 9:46 pm

The defending champion Roy-Hart boys and Newfane girls teams both scored victories today to lock up Niagara-Orleans League swim titles.

The Roy-Hart boys defeated visiting Albion 98-71 to improve to 9-0 and lock up an 11th straight N-O championship.

Nate Mikoll doubled in th 200 Free and 100 Free and Tanner Rees in the 200 Indiovidual Medley and 100 Breaststeoke to lead the Channael Cats.

The Newfane girls likewise improved to 9-0 with a 108-62 win over host Barker to lockup an eighth straight N-O title.

Lauren Gaughran doubled in the 200 Free and 500 Free to lead the Lady Panthers.

The Roy-Hart girls (7-2) completed the sweep by downing Albion (0-9)  117-53 as Sandy Sparks doubled in the 200 Free and 500 Free and Kayla Hagen in the 50 Free and 100 Backstroke.

The Barker boys downed Newfane 98-65 to improve to 5-4 as Collin Webb doubled in the 50 Free and 100 Free.

Newfane (2-7)  had Drew Hamelink double in the IM and 100 Breaststroke and Thomas Schultz in the 200 Free and 100 Free.

The Medina boys bested host Akron 119-60 to improve to 4-5.

Mason Pecoraro doubled in the 50 Free and 100 Backstroke for the Seahorses as Kristian Snyder won the 100 Breaststroke and August Pietrasesa the 100 Free.

The Seahorses also swept the three relays as Powell Stephens, Snyder, Hunter Heil and Dawson Brown took the 200 Medley; Pietrasesa, Daniel Heil, Jack Hill and Stephens the 200 Free and Daniel Heil, Stephens, Pecoraro and Snyder the 400 Free.

Akron won the girls meet but no details were reported.