Decade in Review: #8 Albion, Lyndonville and Medina win sectional softball championships

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 31 December 2019 at 9:47 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Albion catcher Kelsee Soule makes a tag at home during the Purple Eagles 2012 sectional championship win over Lew-Port.

Albion, Lyndonville and Medina all claimed their first sectional softball titles during the decade.

Albion captured the 2012 Section VI Class A2 softball championship with a 10-7 win over Lew-Port. However, the Purple Eagles lost 7-1 to Hamburg in the Class A state qualifier.

Medina first baseman Brandi Guild stretches to make an out during the Mustangs 2017 sectional championship win over Eden.

Albion also captured three Niagara-Orleans League championships in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Medina claimed the Section VI Class B2 in 2017 with a narrow 5-4 win over Eden. Depew though bested the Mustangs 5-2 in the Class B state qualifier.

The Mustangs also shared the N-O title in 2017 with Akron and Roy-Hart.

Roy-Hart captured the N-O title four times during the decade in 2015, 2017 (tri-champ), 2018 and 2019. Akron also won the title in 2014 and 2016 and Newfane in 2013.

Lyndonville claimed two Section V Class D1 titles during the 2013 and 2017 seasons.

In 2013, the Lady Tigers nipped Romulus 6-5 for the title but then lost 7-3 to Andover in the Class D state qualifier.

Again in 2017, the Lady Tigers bested Alfred-Almond 10-1 for the D1 title but then lost 2-1 to Elba in the Class D state qualifier.

The Lady Tigers also claimed  five Genesee Region League Division 2 titles.

Lyndonville catcher Miranda Lembcke stretches to make a tag at home against Fillmore in the semifinals of the Lady Tigers 2017 sectional title run.