Co-champion Medina, Newfane duos head annual Niagara-Orleans All-League team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 12 March 2018 at 9:40 am

Photos By Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s first team All-League honorees Izaiah Rhim, left, and Jalin Cooper

Co-champions Medina and Newfane have both placed two players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League boys basketball squad.

The Mustangs and Panthers shared the N-O crown with identical 10-2 records.

Medina, which claimed top N-O honors for the third year in a row, is represented by senior Jalin Cooper and junior Izaiah Rhim.

Newfane has placed the senior duo of Kyle DeVoogel and Max Weber who are both repeat honorees.

Roy-Hart’s Jacob Bruning

Roy-Hart senior Jacob Bruning rounds out the first team.

Cooper, a three-time first team honoree, scored a school record 468 points (21.2 average) on the season to finish his four year varsity career with 1,383 points, which is also a school record. He also had 209 rebounds, 73 steals and 49 assists on the season.

Rhim, who earned second team All-League honors a year ago, scored 237 points (10.7 ave.) and had 219 rebounds, 59 assists and 56 steals.

Providing a strong 1-2 offensive punch for the Panthers, DeVoogel scored 453 points (19.6 ave.) and Weber 326 (14.1 ave.) DeVoogel also had 84 rebounds, 81 steals and 34 assists while Weber added 167 rebounds, 152 assists and 63 steals.

Bruning, a second team honoree last year, sparked Roy-Hart with 441 points (21.0 ave.), 152 rebonds, 106 assist and 72 steals.

Wilson led the way on the All-League second team with a trio of selections including seniors Nate Fox and Mac Musall along with junior Steve Frerichs.

Rounding out the second team are Roy-Hart senior Noah Kindron and Albion sophomore Deyonci Farley.

Medina had a trio of Honorable Mention selections in seniors Brendan Luthart and Mason Lewis and freshman Brian Fry as did Albion in senior Demetrius Gardner, junior Bryce Pritchard and sophomore Liam Ward.

The Honorable Mention selections also include Akron senior Derek Holtz and freshman Adam Mietz, Barker senior Malik Smith and junior Nick Brandt, Newfane seniors Brandon Gross, Connor Hill and Chad Dunbar, Roy-Hart junior Charlie Bruning and Wilson junior Jake Miller.

Newfane’s Kyle DeVoogel, left, and Max Weber