Candidates step up to run for BOE

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 23 April 2013 at 12:00 am

Every school district in Orleans County has at least one person willing to serve as a volunteer on the Board of Education. Residents had a Monday deadline to submit petitions to run as candidates for the May 21 election.

Medina and Lyndonville each have five candidates running, while Kendall and Holley each have one and Albion has two candidates.

Here is a list of the districts and the candidates:

Albion – BOE President Margy Brown of Carlton is running for another five-year term while resident Linda Weller seeks a position. Incumbent Marie Snyder opted against re-election.

Holley – Normally three seats are up for election each year, but this time there will only be one because the BOE is shrinking from nine to seven members. Brenda Swanger is seeking re-election to a three-year term while BOE President John Heise and another incumbent, Dorothy Morgan, are not running again this election.

Kendall – Board member Edward Gaesser isn’t seeking re-election. Martin Goodenberry of Morton is unopposed for a five-year term.

Lyndonville – Four seats are up for election with the top three voter-getters receiving three-year terms and the fourth-place finisher getting a two-year term. Incumbents Terry Stinson, Tara Neace and James Moody are running again. Harold Suhr and Michelle Dillenbeck also will be on the ballot.

Medina – Three incumbents – Wendi Pencille, Virginia Nicholson and John McCarthy – are seeking re-election to three-year terms while David Sevinski and Lori Draper are also running.  The top three vote-getters will get full terms while the fourth-leading candidate will receive a one-year term.