Candidates seek BOE seats at 5 districts

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 23 April 2014 at 12:00 am

Candidates have submitted petitions to run for volunteer positions on the Board of Education at the five school districts in Orleans County.

Two of the districts will have contested elections, while two have lone candidates seeking a single open position. Holley has three candidates for three spots.

Monday was the deadline for the petitions. The election is May 20.

Here is the rundown for each district:

ALBION – Four candidates are running for three positions: two five-year terms and one one-year term.

Kevin Doherty and David Sidari are both finishing five-year terms. They are running again. Marie Snyder, another incumbent, had a break from the BOE but was recently appointed to fill a vacancy from Melissa Osburn.  Her term has one year remaining. Snyder will be on the ballot.

Wendy Kirby also is running for the BOE. The top two vote-getters will get the five-year terms while the candidate with the third most votes gets the one-year term.

HOLLEY – Three candidates are running for three positions, with the top two candidates getting three-year terms and other receiving a two-year term.

John Heise, the former BOE president, is running again after choosing not to a year ago. Other candidates include incumbents Robin Silvis and Salvatore DeLuca Jr.

Another incumbent, Norman Knight, has opted not to seek re-election.

KENDALL – Lucille Welch has decided against seeking re-election after 10 years on the board. Chaley Swift is the lone candidate to file a petition to run for the five-year term.

LYNDONVILLE – Incumbent Susan Hrovat is unopposed in seeking a three-year term.

MEDINA – There are five candidates seeking four positions on the Board of Education.

The top three candidates will receive three-year terms while the candidate with the fourth most votes gets a one-year term. The one-year term will fill Rosalind Lind’s vacant position.

Three incumbents – Christopher Keller, William Keppler and David Sevenski – are seeking re-election. Other candidates include Renee Paser-Paull and former BOE member Virginia Nicholson.