Candidates file petitions to run for town, county offices

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 13 April 2021 at 6:50 pm

Slate shows several Republican primaries, including races for town supervisor in Barre, Murray

Candidates for local town and county elected positions have filed petitions to run for those offices in November. However, some will face Republican primaries on June 22.

The primaries include two races for town supervisor, including retired Sheriff Randy Bower trying to oust Joe Sidonio in Murray. In Barre, Sean Pogue faces a challenge for town supervisor from Scott Burnside. Barre also has four candidates running for two other positions on the Town Board.

The slate of candidates include two changes on the seven-member County Legislature. Ken DeRoller and John DeFillipps  aren’t seeking re-election.

Republicans backed Ed Morgan, who is retired as Murray highway superintendent, for the at-large position currently held by DeFillipps. John Fitzak, a member of Carlton Town Board, was endorsed by Republicans for DeRoller’s position representing the towns of Carlton, Kendall and Murray.

Candidates usually need to submit petitions signed by at least 5 percent of the registered voters in their party. This year, due to Covid-19, the number of signatures was reduced to 1.5 percent.

Those petitions needed to be turned into the Orleans County Board of Election by the March 25 deadline.

There is still a chance for candidates to run for an elected position. They can do it under an independent line. They would need petitions signed by at least 2.5 percent of the total registered voters in that town, district or county. That is down from the 5 percent requirement before Covid. Those petitions are due to the Board of Elections from May 18 to May 25.

Here are the candidates who have submitted petitions so far:

Town of Albion

  • Town Supervisor – Richard Remley, Republicans
  • Town Councilperson (2 positions) – Arnold Allen Jr. and Sandra Bensley, both Republicans

Town of Barre

  • Town Supervisor (1 position) – Scott Burnside and Sean Pogue, both Republicans
  • Town Councilperson (2 positions) – George McKenna, David Waters, Lynn Hill and Tom McCabe, all Republicans

Town of Carlton

  • Town Councilperson (2 positions) – Jeffrey Gifaldi and Deborah Yockel, both Republicans
  • Town Clerk (1 position) – Karen Narburgh, Conservative and Republican; and Dori Goetze, Republican
  • Highway Superintendent (1 position) – Kurt Van Wyke, Republican
  • Town Justice (1 position) – Kevin Hurley, Republican

Town of Clarendon

  • Town Supervisor (1 position) – Richard Moy, Republican
  • Town Councilperson (2 positions) – William Fox, Democrat; Marc Major, Republican; and Christopher Caufield, Republican

Town of Gaines

  • Town Supervisor (1 position) – Tyler Allport, Republican
  • Town Councilperson (2 positions) – James Kirby and Kenneth Rush, both Republicans
  • Town Justice (1 position) – Henry Smith Jr. and Charles Prentice Jr., both Republicans
  • Town Clerk (1 position) – Susan Heard, Republican

Town of Kendall

  • Town Supervisor (1 position) – Anthony Cammarata, Republican
  • Town Councilpersons (2 positions) – Paul Jennings and Wayne Martin Jr., both Republicans
  • Town Clerk (1 position) – Amy Richardson, Republican
  • Highway Superintendent (1 position) – Warren Kruger, Republican
  • Town Justice (1 position) – Debra Kluth, Republican

Town of Murray

  • Town Supervisor (1 position) – Joseph Sidonio, Conservative and Republican; and Randy Bower, Republican
  • Town Councilperson (2 positions) – Michael Mele and Paul Hendel, both Republicans. (A petition also was submitted for Robert MacClaren, a Republican, but he declined the nomination and won’t be on the ballot.)
  • Highway Superintendent (1 position) – Dirk Lammes, Conservative and Republican
  • Town Justice (1 position) – Gary Passarell, Republican
  • Town Clerk (1 position) – Cynthia Oliver, Republican

Town of Ridgeway

  • Town Councilperson (2 positions) – David Stalker, Conservative and Republican; Jeffrey Toussaint, Republican; and Cliff Barber, Republican
  • Town Clerk (1 position) – Laurie Kilburn, Conservative and Republican; Elisa J. “E.J.” Cox, Republican; and Hannah Hill, Republican
  • Highway Superintendent (1 position) – John Olinger, Republican

Town of Shelby

  • Town Supervisor (1 position) – Jeffrey Smith, Republican
  • Town Councilpersons (2 positions) – Edward Mathew Zelazny, William Bacon and Stephen Seitz Sr., all Republicans

Town of Yates

  • Town Supervisor (1 position) – James Simon, Republican
  • Town Councilpersons (2 positions) – Paul Lauricella Jr., Conservative; and Terry Chaffee Jr. and Harold Suhr, both Republicans
  • Town Justice (1 position) – Donald Grabowski, Republican

Orleans County

  • Legislator District 1 (Barre, Calrendon, most of Shelby) – William Eick, Republican
  • Legislator District 2 (Ridgeway, Yates, part of Shelby) – Lynne Johnson, Republican
  • Legislator District 3 (Albion and Gaines) – Fred Miller, Democrat
  • Legislator District 4 (Carlton, Kendall, Murray) – John Fitzak, Republican
  • Legislator At-Large from West (countywide) – Merle “Skip” Draper, Republican
  • Legislator At-Large from Central (countywide) – Donald Allport, Republican
  • Legislator At-Large from East (countywide) – Edward Morgan, Republican
  • County Treasurer – Kimberly DeFrank, Republican