Candidate slate set for Nov. 5 election

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 29 October 2019 at 10:32 pm

The slate of candidates is set for the Nov. 5 election with the local town and county races.

Barre has the most candidates – seven for three spots on the Town Board, although one candidate – Bradlee Driesel – has withdrawn from the race but remains on the ballot as a Republican.

There is also a three-way battle for town supervisor in Ridgeway, with incumbent Brian Napoli facing a challenge from Michael Maak, a Democrat, and David Stalker, who is endorsed by the Conservative Party.

Orleans County doesn’t tend to have candidates run on the Libertarian Party line. This election there are two Libertarian candidates, Chase Tkach for county legislator and Kenneth Capurso for the Gaines Town Board.

Two candidates also won’t appear on the ballot. Brett Sobieraski lost a close Republican primary in June to Chris Bourke for sheriff. Bourke is on the Republican, Conservative and Independence lines on Nov. 5, while Sobieraski mounts a write-in campaign.

Bob Miller, the current Murray town supervisor, lost a close Republican primary to Joe Sidonio, who has the Republican, Conservative and Independence lines. Miller also is running a write-in campaign.

Here is a list of the candidates who will appear on the ballot:

(R = Republican, D = Democrat, C = Conservative, I = Independence, L = Libertarian, WF = Working Families)

Orleans County

Sheriff: Chris Bourke (R, C, I)

County Legislator At Large, West: Merle “Skip” Draper (R)

County Legislator At Large, Central (pick 1): Donald Allport (R), Chase Tkach  (L)

County Legislator At Large, East: John DeFilipps (R)

District # 1: William Eick (R)

District # 2: Lynne Johnson (R)

District #3: Fred Miller (D)

District #4: Kenneth DeRoller (R)

Town of Albion

Town Supervisor: Richard Remley (R)

Councilperson (pick 2): Terry Wilbert (D), Darlene Benton (D)

Town Clerk: Sarah Basinait (R)

Highway Superintendent: Michael Neidert (D, R)

Town of Barre

Town Supervisor (pick 1): Sean Pogue (R, I), Gerald Solazzo (Citizens for Change)

Town Councilperson (pick 2): LuAnn Tierney (D), Margaret Swan (R, I), Bradlee Driesel (R, I)Kerri Richardson (C, Citizens for Change) and Cindy Burnside (Citizens for Change) (Editor’s note: Diesel has withdrawn from race but remains on the ballot.)

Town Clerk: Maureen Beach (D)

Town Justice: Rick Root (D)

Highway Superintendent: Dale Brooks (R)

Town of Carlton

Town Supervisor: Gayle Ashbery (R)

Town Councilperson (pick 2): John Fitzak (R), Dana Woolston (R)

Town Justice: Patricia Russell (R)

Town of Clarendon

Town Supervisor: Richard Moy (R)

Town Councilperson: Bruce Hovey (R), Allen Robinson (R)

Town Clerk: Susan Colby (R)

Highway Superintendent (pick 1): Tracy Bruce Chalker (R, C, Non Affiliated Party), Robert Freida (Community Service)

Town of Gaines

Town Supervisor: Joseph Grube (R)

Town Councilperson (pick 2): Corey Black (R), Ronald Mannella (R), Mary Neilans (C) and Kenneth Capurso (L)

Highway Superintendent: Mark Radzinski (R)

Town of Kendall

Town Supervisor: Anthony Cammarata

Town Councilperson (pick 2): Margaret Lynn Szozda, Barbara Flow

Highway Superintendent: Warren Kruger

Town of Murray

Town Supervisor: Joseph Sidonio (R, C, I)

Town Councilperson (pick 2): Neil Valentine (R, C), Lloyd Chirst, Jr. (R) and Dirk Lammes, Jr. (C, I)

Town of Ridgeway

Town Supervisor (pick 1): Michael Maak (D), Brian Napoli (R, Ridgeway Reform) and David Stalker (C)

Town Councilperson (pick 2): Mary Woodruff (R), Duane Payne (R)

Town Justice: Joseph Kujawa (R)

Highway Superintendent: John Olinger (R, Friends of John W. Olinger)

Town of Shelby

Town Supervisor: Edward Houseknecht (R)

Town Councilperson (pick 2): John Pratt III (R), Jeffrey Smith (R)

Town Clerk: Darlene Rich (D)

Town Justice (pick 1): Dawn Keppler (R), Mark Wambach (C, WF)

Highway Superintendent (pick 1): Michael Fuller (D), Dale Root (R, C)

Town of Yates

Town Supervisor: James Simon (R)

Town Councilperson (pick 2): John Riggi (R), Susan Hrovat (R)

Town Clerk: Michele Harling (R)

Highway Superintendent: Roger Wolfe (R)

Return to top