Brigham Concrete Blue Claws repeat as AnJo National Division champions

Contributed Story Posted 25 August 2015 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photos – Players and coaches of the AnJo National Division champion Brigham Concrete Blue Claws meet here. In the first row are Thomas Russo, Alex Conheady, Vinny Buscarino and Tyler Baes.  In the second row are Coach Tom Russo, Miguel Aybar, Coach Jake Baes, Kiefer Bloom, Javon Ruffin, Matt Gilbert, Coach Dan Gilbert, Colin Fragale, Gianna Fazzolari and Coach Todd Fragale.

After a very tight four innings, the Brigham Blue Claws broke away from a 2-2 tie with the Hillman Automotive Aqua Sox, by erupting for 6 runs in the fifth inning to key a 14-2 victory in the recent Anjo National Division championship game.

On the hill for the Blue Claws, Matt Gilbert tossed four innings and Gianna Fazzolari came in to close out the last three innings yielding no hits, one walk and hurling six Ks.

For the Aqua Sox, Ben Shanley pitched four solid innings against a high powered offense yielding only two runs on six hits, one walk and four Ks.

Shanley also helped his cause at the plate with a double, scoring once.  Jonathan DeMartz also was strong at the plate with a hit and two walks.

For the Brigham Blue Claws, the offense was spread out.  Colin Fragale finished a very strong year going 3 for 4 with two RBIs, scoring three times.  Matt Gilbert also was a force going 3 for 4 with an RBI and scoring once.  Kiefer Bloom also had a great day catching and went 3 for 4 scoring twice with two RBIs.  Javon Ruffin had two hits on the day.  Gianna Fazzolari and Thomas Russo each had a hit and a walk scoring once each.  Alex Conheady and Vinny Buscarino both had a hit and a walk. Conheady also scored twice.

The Brigham Blue Claws finished second during the regular season to the talent heavy Basil Toyota Hammerheads that were coached by Kyle Hayes.

League MVP Gianna Fazzolari receives her award from Coach/President Todd Fragale.

The Blue Claws were coached by long-time coach and AnJo President Todd Fragale, Bombers coach Jake Baes, Oakfield-Alabama Varsity coach Dan Gilbert and Tom Russo.

For the Blue Claws, Matt Gilbert received the AnJo Sportsmanship award and Javon Ruffin received the Most Improved award on the year.

Gianna Fazzolari won the coveted  MVP award for the league being chosen as the best player in the league.  Gianna is the first ever female selected for the award edging out standouts Bryce Seddon and Jordan Sansone.

The MVP is awarded by the League President to longtime AnJo players with superior baseball ability and that are good teammates and model sportsman. Gianna’s parents are Tony and Wendy Fazzolari of Newfane. The decision was quite difficult, as all three of the players met all the criteria and were standout individuals.

AnJo held its inaugural season in 1955 and the AnJo MVP that year was Jack DiMaggio.  For more information on AnJo or the AnJo Bombers organization and tryouts, go to or