Board of Education candidates step forward for June 9 election

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 12 May 2020 at 2:15 pm

The five school districts in Orleans County will have their elections on June 9, a change from the usual third Tuesday of May.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo pushed back the date due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The election and the vote on school budgets and propositions will be done through mail-in ballots.

The candidates also didn’t need to submit petitions signed by other local residents. Instead, they only need to send a letter of their intention to be a candidate.

ALBION – Albion has three board seats available this election. The individual with the most votes will serve from the election until June 30, 2025. The person with the second highest number of votes will serve from July 1, 2020 until June 30, 2025. The person with the third highest number of votes will serve the remaining term (approximately two years) of a seat vacated by a prior member’s resignation through June 30, 2022.

The candidates include: Gregg Boose, Sr., Kevin Doherty, John Kast, Christopher Kinter, Joyce Riley, Kurt Schmitt and Marlene Seielstad. (Boose and Riley are currently on the board.)

Residents with questions about absentee ballots or the vote can email Derek Vallese, District Clerk, at

The ballots must be received by 5 p.m. on June 9.

HOLLEY – There are two seats open, currently filled by Robin Silvis and Andrea Newman. Silvis and Newman are both seeking re-election. Nancy Manard MacPhee also is running for the board.

KENDALL –There are two openings on the BOE this year: one for a trustee position that is a five-year term and another for a three-year term. Nadine Hanlon isn’t seeking re-election to a five -year term. The three-year term was vacated by Jason ReQua, who resigned due to new work responsibilities.

There are two candidates in the election: Rachel Lynch Fisken and Bryan Hardenbrook. The candidate with the most votes gets the five-year term.

LYNDONVILLE – There is one seat up for election in Lyndonville. The spot is currently filled by Kelly Cousins.

The candidates include: Kelly Cousins, Jeanne Crane, Ralph Smith, Ace Strickland and Jerod Thurber.

MEDINA – Medina has three seats on the BOE available. They are currently filled by William Keppler, Arlene Pawlaczyk and David Sevenski.

Pawlaczyk, the current Board President, is seeking re-election. Other candidates include Annette Allis and LuAnn Tierney.

Return to top