Block M honors Mustangs student-athletes

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 23 June 2018 at 9:09 am

Contributed Photos – Medina’s annual Block ‘M’ sports banquet was held on Wednesday and included the presentation of the Babe Ruth Award to seniors Alyssa Beyer and Jalin Cooper, left, and the Russell Houserman Award to freshman Brian Fry and Hannah Kenward.

Athletes of the Year Awards, by grade, were presented to, in front, freshman Devin Griffin, senior Alisha Scroger and sophomore Melanie Green. In back are senior Mason Lewis, freshman August Pietrafesa, senior Brandon Luthart and sophomore Trevor Luthart. Missing from the photo are juniors Izaiah Rhim and Je’ne Brown.

The recipients of the Larry Decker Memorial Scholarship Award were, from left, Toby Kiebala, Brendan Luthart and Hannah Sones.

Ian Joseph and Destiny Satkowski, at left, received the Boice-Ossont Scholarship Award while Alex Allis, right, received the Mustang Heart Award. Joseph also received the Beverly Sargent Memorial Award. Other special award recipients not pictured included Elijah Sones (Gary Gross Memorial Award), Ashton Laird (Charlene Schrader Award) and Andrea Lonnen (Fats Piedmont Fan of the Year). In addition, Jack Hill and Madison Kenward were named Dick Diminuco Scholar-Athlete finalists.

The fall sports season Pony Award recipients included, in front, Alyssa Beyer (volleyball), Destiny Satkowski (soccer), Madison Kenward (field hockey), Hannah Sones (cross-country) and Melanie Green (golf). In back are Mason Lewis (football), Jacob Bensley (golf) and Ethan Leonard (soccer). Missing from the photo are Mason Pecoraro (volleyball), Alden Cayea (cross-country), Alexis Jones (cheerleading) and Jen Masse (volleyball).

The winter sports Pony Award recipients included Dan Heil (swimming), Hannah Heil (swimming) and Jalin Cooper (basketball). Missing from the photo are Elijah Sones (wrestling), Je’ne Brown (basketball), Stephen Secore (unified bowling) and Alexandra Strong (cheerleading).

The spring sports Pony Award recipients included Olivia Carter (track), Jack Hill (track), Alisha Scroger (softball) and Brendan Luthart (lacrosse). Missing from the photo are Brett Riemer (baseball), Andrew Fuller (tennis) and Tom Biaselli (unified basketball).

Two new members were inducted into the Mustangs Sports Hall of Fame, Dr. Leanne Herman-Olshavsky (Class of 1998) and Jake Rosenbeck (Class of 2005). She participated in field hockey, swimming and softball earning first team Niagara-Orleans League honors in softball as a junior and senior and in field hockey as a senior. He participated in basketball and baseball earning first team N-O honors in baseball as a sophomore, junior and senior and in basketball as a senior.