Block M honors Mustang student/athletes

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 5 June 2017 at 7:10 pm

Contributed Photos Seniors Kristian Snyder and Martha Gardner received the Babe Ruth Award at the recent Medina High Block M sports banquet.

Dozens of Medina High student/athletes were honored at the annual Block M banquet held this past week at the White Birch.

Seniors Kristian Snyder and Martha Gardner received the Babe Ruth Awards while Freshmen Olivia Carter and Chris Goyette were the recipients of the Russell Houserman Awards.

The program was also highlighted by the presentation of nearly a dozen special awards.  Da’John Brown received the Gary Gross Memorial Award, Snyder the Beverly Sargent Memorial Award, Teanna Cardone the Coach Dick Liddell Award, Gardner the Jeff Evoy Memorial Award, Hannah Heil the Charlene Schrader Award, Snyder and Molley Gross the Dave Boice and Bill Ossont Scholarship, Jake Cotter, Madeline Winters and Gardner the Larry Decker Scholarship, Snyder and Gardner the Niagara Orleans Scholarship and Tom McGrane the Fats Piedmont Award.

Freshmen Olivia Carter and Chris Goyette received the Houserman Award.

The Player of the Year Awards were presented to seniors Emily Kams and Jake Cotter, juniors Alisha Scroger and Jalin Cooper, sophomores Maddie Williams and Izaiah Rhim and freshmen Hannah Heil and Colby Petrie.

The Pony Awards were presented to Dan Heil (Cross Country and Track), Tyler Howard (Football), Ashton Laird (Fall Cheerleading), Bobbiesue Fearby (Winter Cheerleading), Teanna Cardone (Field Hockey), Coby Alone (Soccer), Katie Bilicki (Soccer and Basketball), Emily Kams (Volleyball and Softball), Molley Gross (Volleyball), Mason Pecoraro (Volleyball), Ian Wagner (Golf), Melanie Green (Golf), Alissa Beyer (Swimming), Kristian Snyder (Swimming and Tennis), Tyrellis Atkins (Basketball), Colby Petrie (Wrestling), Martha Gardner (Track), Brett Riemer (Baseball), Jaob Cotter (Lacrosse) and Edgar Chavez (Unified Basketball).

Four year plaques were presented to the following seniors: Hannah Adams (Soccer),  Quentin Adkins (Soccer), Coby Albone (Soccer, Lacrosse) Tyrellis Atkins  (Basketball), Kathryn Bilicki (Soccer, Basketball, Track), Vassilios Bitsas (Soccer) Nicholas Bogan (Tennis), Alaina Boyce (Field Hockey),  Kevin Capstick  (Swimming), Michael Cardone (Golf, Basketball, Tennis),  Teanna Cardone (Field Hockey), Nicole Cooper (Softball), Jakob Cotter (Football, Lacrosse), Chelsea Donley (Track), Martha Gardner (Soccer, Track), Sarah Granchelli (Field Hockey), Molley Gross (Volleyball, Basketball),  Brandon Harris (Tennis), Tyler Howard ( Football, Basketball), Kali James (Football Cheerleading), Dawson Joy (Football), Emily Kams (Volleyball, Basketball, Softball), Chase McAdoo (Soccer), Eric Neace (Football),  Alexis Neuman (Volleyball, Softball), Morgan Roach (Soccer, Track), Federico Rosario (Track), Alexandria Sargent (Volleyball),  Victoria Schicker (Volleyball), Carley Schultz (Volleyball), Kristian Snyder (Soccer, Swimming, Tennis), Emmanual Sones ( Football), William Stephens (Football, Swimming), Paige Wagner (Cross Country), Madeline Winters ( Soccer, Basketball), Kathryn Young (Soccer, Track).

Among the Player of the Year Award recipients were, in front, Maddie Williams and Emily Kams. In back are Izaiah Rhim, Colby Petrie and Jake Cotter.