Block ‘M’ honors Mustang student-athletes

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 20 June 2024 at 9:39 am

Contributed Photos – Seniors Iyla Lilleby and Sawyer Kingsbury, at left, received the Babe Ruth Award and freshmen Aidan Papaj and Madeline Mark received the Russell Houserman Award at the annual Block ‘M’ Banquet.

Medina High capped off the interscholastic sports year with the annual Block M banquet Tuesday evening at the White Birch.

Seniors Sawyer Kingsbury and Iyla Lilleby were presented with the Babe Ruth Award.

Freshmen Madeline Mark and Aidan Papaj received the Russell Houserman Award.

Athlete of the Year, by grade, were presented to Luke Duffina, Julian Woodworth, Preston Woodworth, Madelynn Rutledge, Sam Heschke and Sophia Goyette. Missing from the photo are Christian Moss, Emiliana Batista and Brody Fry.

Athlete of the Year Awards were presented by class to the following student-athletes. Seniors – Madelynn Rutledge and Julian Woodworth; Juniors – Sophia Goyette and Brody Fry; Sophomores – Emiliana Batista, Christian Moss and Luke Duffina; Freshmen – Sam Heschke and Preston Woodworth.

Seniors Alex Benz and Dylan Lonnen received the Mustang Heart Award.

Receiving scholarships were, in front, Iyla Lilleby, Baileigh McAdoo, Madelynn Rutledge and Lorelei Sanders. In back are Caiden Class, Dylan Lonnen, Julian Woodworth, Sawyer Kingsbury, Brandon Christiaansen and Will Prest.

The Kyle Barna Scholarship was presented to Sawyer Kingsbury and Will Prest.

Dylan Lonnen, Brandon Christiaansen and Julian Woodworth received the Larry Decker Scholarship.

The Boice/Ossont Scholarship was presented to Iyla Llleby and Madelynn Rutledge.

Lorelei Sanders received the Beverly Sargent Scholarship.

Caiden Class and Baileigh McAdoo received the Niagara-Orleans League Scholarship.

The Fats Piedmont Fans of the Year Award was presented to Brian and Lisa Christiaansen.

PONY Awards were presented by sport to the following student-athletes: Fall Season Cross-Country – Jack Cecchini and Madeline Mark; Fall Cheerleading – Mahri Harmer-Owens; Boys Soccer – Cole Callard; Girls Soccer – Cam Eick; Volleyball – K’mani Poole; Golf – Dylan Lonnen; Football – Julian Woodworth.

Inducted into the Mustangs Hall of Fame were Charles Morley and Nancy Baker.

Winter Season – Girls Swimming – Izzy Perez; Boys Swimming – Caiden Class; Boys Basketball – Justin Pitts; Girls Basketball – Angel Mulcahy; Unified Bowling – Andrew Greek; Wrestling – Conor Crandall; Winter Cheerleading – Emilana Batista.

Spring Season – Boys Track – Kaedon Cleveland; Girls Track – Katelyn Hilobuk; Tennis – Angel Mulcahy; Baseball – Henry Winters; Unified Basketball – Aiden Cherry; Lacrosse – Will Prest; Softball – Mackenzie Alverez.

The evening also featured the induction of two new members into the Mustangs Hall of Fame Charles Morley (Class of 1978) and Nancy Baker (Class of 1981).

Morley was a three time Niagara-Orleans League wrestling champion (1976, 1977 and 1978). In 1978 he also captured a Section VI title and went on to place fifth at the state championship tournament.

Baker earned first team N-O All-League softball honors in both 1980 and 1981 as she helped Medina claim the league title her senior year. She also helped the Medina field hockey team capture three straight N-O championships (1978, 1979, 1980) as she earned second team All-League honors her senior year.

Dylan Lonnen and Alex Benz, at left, received the Mustang Heart Award and Brian and Lisa Christiaansen received the Fats Piedmont Fan of the Year Award.