Block ‘M’ honors Medina’s student/Athletes

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 21 June 2019 at 8:14 am

Contributed Photos – Seniors Ray Paull and Sarah Cochrane received the Babe Ruth Award at Medina’s annual Block ‘M’ Banquet Wednesday. Paull competed in soccer, swimming and tennis and Cochrane in field hockey, basketball and track.

Freshmen Joe Cecchini and Dakota Alexander received the Russell Houseman Award.

Honored as Athletes of the Year by Class were, from left, freshmen Alex Strong and Zach Fike, sophomores Brooklyn Brown and Brian Fry, juniors Hannah Heil and Nate Sherman and seniors Maddie Williams and Izaiah Rhim.

Medina junior Melanie Green who captured her second straight state golf championship earlier this month meets here with the Mustangs only other two-time state champion, JR Roberts who was a state champion wrestler in 2001 and 2002.

Kody Leno and Cora Payne received the Niagara-Orleans League Scholar Athlete Award.

Maddie Williams, who received the Decker Memorial Scholarship, meets here with Boice-Ossont Scholarship winners Blaire and Chaise Prest.

Nadia Osby, left, received the Heart of a Mustang Award and Alyssa Blount the Beverly Sargent Memorial Award.

Several student/athletes who received Pony awards meet here. In all Pony awards were presented to nearly 20 student/athletes at the Block ‘M’ Banquet including Izaiah Rhim (Football and Basketball), Hannah Heil (Cross-Country and Swimming), August Pietrafesa (Cross-Country), Ashlee Howell (Soccer and Softball), Maddie Williams (Volleyball, Basketball and Track), Ray Paull (Swimming and Tennis), Gianna Greco (Fall Cheerleading), Guin Schalck (Field Hockey), Kody Leno (Soccer), Chris Goyette (Volleyball), Ian Wagner (Golf), Mel Green (Golf), Steven Secore (Unified Bowling), Jackson Tuohey (Unified Basketball), Colby Petrie (Wrestling), Natalie Cox (Winter Cheerleading), Trenton Crews (Track), Trevor Luthart (Baseball) and Christian Silversmith (Lacrosse).