Block ‘M’ honors Medina’s student-athletes

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 4 July 2021 at 8:50 am

Contributed Photos – Pony Award honorees at this past week’s annual Medina High Block ‘M’ Banquet included, in front, Brooklyn Brown, Emma Roush, Alex Strong, Valencia Bloom, Devin Griffin and Hannah Kenward. In back are Robert Morehouse, Jackson Tuohey, Brian Fry and Miles Hartway.

This past week’s Medina High Block  “M” sports banquet saw seniors Devin Griffin and Brian Fry received the Babe Ruth Award and freshmen Iyla Lilleby and Jack Cecchini the Russell Houseman Award.

Seniors Brian Fry and Devin Griffin received the Babe Ruth Award.

The Dick Diminuco Niagara-Orleans League scholarships were presented to Corey Saj and FaithAnn Vanderwalker, the Larry Decker Scholarships to Brian Fry and Sarah Sones, the Boice-Ossont Scholarships to Corinne Hill and Brooklyn Brown, the Gary Gross Scholarship to Miles Hartway and the Beverly Sargent Scholarship to Jacob Velesko.

FaithAnn Vanderwalker and Zack Fike received the Mustang Heart Award.

PONY Awards were presented to Aidan Paul (Golf), Robert Morehouse (Football), Devin Griffin (Volleyball, Track), Zach Fike (Soccer), Emma Roush (Soccer), Valencia Bloom (Fall Cheerleading), Alwyn Cayea (Cross-Country), Suvi Biesinger (Cross-Country), Hannah Kenward (Field Hockey), Tyler Chinn (Basketball), Brian Fry (Basketball, Baseball)), Paige Adkins (Basketball), Miles Hartway (Wrestling), Isaac Pace (Swimming), Brooklyn Brown (Swimming, Softball)), Alex Strong (Winter Cheerleading), Mark Reigle (Lacrosse), Makayla Heideman (Tennis), Christian Drisdom (Track), Alex Balaban (Unified Bowling) and Jackson Tuohey (Unified Basketball).

Scholarship recipients included Corey Saj, FaithAnn Vanderwalker, Sarah Sones, Miles Hartway and Brian Fry.