Block M honors Medina student athletes

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 10 June 2014 at 12:00 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Seniors Taylor Miller and Ben Howell received the Babe Ruth Award at Monday’s annual Medina High Block M ceremonies.

The accomplishments of dozens of Medina High student athletes during the 2013-14 school year were recognized at the annual Block M Award Ceremony held Monday evening at the White Birch.

Seniors Ben Howell, who competed in soccer, wrestling and tennis, and Taylor Miller, who competed in soccer, basketball and track, received the Babe Ruth Awards.

The Russell Houserman Awards were presented to freshmen Kristian Snyder (soccer, swimming, tennis), Molley Gross (volleyball, basketball, track) and Emily Kams (volleyball, basketball, softball).

Several special honors were also presented including the Larry Decker Scholarship to Kyle Barna and Emilee Austin, the Charlene Schrader Award to Krista Nellist, the Beverly Sargent Memorial Award to Adam Hoot and the Gary Gross Memorial Award to Howell.

Varsity coaches made Pony Award presentations to the following student athletes: Holly Heil (cross-country), Barna (football, lacrosse), Bryahna Sikorski (cheerleading), Kelsey Evoy (field hockey), Anthony Pane (boys soccer), Austin (girls soccer), Jenna Carpenter (volleyball), Gage Masters (golf), Austin Heil (boys swimming), Mackenzie Wright (girls swimming), Kevin Arnold (boys basketball), Miller (girls basketball), Howell (wrestling, tennis), Scott Barber (boys track), Martha Gardner (girls track), Justin Morgan (baseball), Mallori Wienke (softball).

Photo by Mike Wertman – Freshmen, from left, Molley Gross, Kristian Snyder and Emily Kams received the Russell Houserman Award.

Four year sport awards were presented to the following seniors:

Shannon Allen (field hockey), Hayden Allis (soccer), Katherine Anderson (soccer), Emilee Austin (soccer, swimming, softball), Scott Barber (soccer), Kyle Barna (football, lacrosse), Daniel Brown (football, basketball), Jenna Carpenter (volleyball), Samuel Crowley (baseball), Joshua Cuadrado (football, basketball).

Kelsey Evoy (field hockey, swimming, softball), Ashley Gates (football cheerleading), Drake Grabowski (football, track), Cedric Griffith (basketball), Cooper Hardiman (soccer), Forrest Harper (football, track), Nathan Hodgins (football), Adam Hoot (basketball, baseball), Felisha Houseman (volleyball).

Benjamin Howell (soccer, wrestling, tennis), Hailey Jakubowski (volleyball), Jade Kenyon (volleyball), Jayne Kuhn (field hockey), Benjamin Martin (soccer), Ian McAnn (swimming), Benjamin McPherson (football, basketball), Elizabeth Meyer (soccer, softball), Taylor Miller (soccer, basketball, track), Alexander O’Keefe (track).

Nathan Pace (tennis), Anthony Pane (soccer, track), MaryBeth Rizzo (volleyball), Patrick Roberts (cross-country, swimming, track), Barry Rogenmoser (soccer), James Soha (track), Samantha Wendling (swimming), Joshua White (soccer), Mallori Wienke (field hockey, softball), Mackenzie Wright (swimming).