Big soccer and football wins highlight Medina’s year

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 31 December 2013 at 12:00 am

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Medina/Lyndonville scored a victory over league foe Newfane in a monsoon rain storm to capture a sectional soccer championship. Here Anthony Pane (13) and Scott Barber battle for control of the ball for the Mustangs.

Amid a monsoon rainstorm, Medina/Lyndonville claimed its second boys soccer sectional title in the last three years as the Mustangs nipped Niagara-Orleans League rival Newfane 2-1 in overtime for the Section VI Class B-1 championship.

Brennen O’Connor scored the game winner in overtime for Medina/Lyndonville as James Ianni netted the first goal for the Mustangs.

However, for the second time in three years the team’s path to the states was blocked by N-O rival Akron as the Tigers downed the Mustangs 2-0 in the Section VI Class B state qualifiers.

Ianni, Scott Barber, Anthony Pane and Steven Anderson all earned first team N-O All-League honors. Barber also earned third team All-Western New York and fifth team All-State honors.

The Medina football squad outlasted rival Albion 38-31 on the Purple Eagles field to claim the “Doc’s Rock” trophy and a berth in the Section VI Class B playoffs.

Kyle Barna ran for two touchdowns and caught a pass from quarterback Jason Hellwig for another score for the Mustangs. Hellwig also completed a touchdown pass to Dylan Lewis and Munjie Brown added another TD run.

Barna, Hellwig and Brown all earned first team B-North Division All-Star honors. Barna also earned second team All-Western New York honors while Hellwig and Brown both received honorable mention.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Kyle Barna picks up yardage for Medina during the Mustangs win over rival Albion.

In the Class B sectionals, Medina lost 25-0 to Alden in the quarterfinals.

The Medina tennis team posted a perfect 12-0 record to capture the N-O championship for the second year in a row.

Chris Horgan and Ben Howell both earned first team N-O All-League honors for the Mustangs as Troy Fidanza, Arsalan Mustafa and Kristian Synder were all second team selections.

In girls track, Medina’s Holly Heil was a double winner in the 800 and 1500 at the N-O All-League meet.

On the wrestling mats, Medina had a trio of N-O champions in Matt Montesanti, Brennen Callara and Nick Erway. Montesanti went on to win Class C and Section VI titles and placed second at the state championships.

On the basketball court, Medina senior Alba Perez earned first team N-O All-League honors.

In youth sports action, the Medina Colts won the regular season title in the JV Division of the Niagara Orleans Football Association; the Medina II team captured the Genesee Youth Soccer League U19 Division title and the Medina Midget B baseball squad won the Midget B League regular season title.

At Shelridge, Alex Misiti and Melissa Cotter captured club championships.

Misiti, who went on to earn Sherlidge Player of the Year Honors, made up seven shots during the final round to claim the title.

Cotter edged out Melinda Whiting in a playoff to repeat as club champion.

Gary Murphy won the President’s Cup Tourament at Shelridge; Mike Morris and Brian Branka teamed up to win the Shelridge Open and the brother duo of Paul and Tim McPherson claimed top honors in the Men’s Summer League.