Barre Scouts retire American flag

Contributed Story Posted 16 June 2016 at 12:00 am

Photos courtesy of Jeff Andrews

BARRE – Scouts from Troop 175 in Barre retired the American flag on the Barre Fire Hall during a ceremony on Monday.

These Scouts make sure the flag doesn’t touch the ground. On the left is Eli Pask and Dominic DiGuilio is at right. Ivan Barry, second from left, and Nicholas Andrews are in the middle.

Scouts retired the flag a day before Flag Day, which was celebrated on Tuesday.

Scouts are pictured outside the Barre Fire Hall while the flag was lowered from the building. The Scouts and their leaders include Tony DiGiulio, Steve Hickman, Karl Driesel, Pat Lamka, Mike Schreiner, Ben Hickman, John Schreiner, Eli Pask, Nicholas Andrews, Aiden Rush, Alex Zaczek, Dominic DiGuilio, Ivan Barry, Bryan Loney, Noah Kowalski, Adam Burgio, Nicholas Luft, Gideon Pask, Colin Coyle, Ethan Dunn, Liam Coyle, Tristan Lusk, Willem DeRuysscher, Isaac Hickman, Dillon DiGiulio, Dennis Mathes and Matthew Mathes.

The flag is brought down from the Barre Fire Hall on Route 98.

The flag was then cut by colored fields, with the Scouts saluting and burning all of the blue fields, red fields and white fields separately. This photo shows Jess Markel (center), senior district executive for the Iroquois Trail Council of the Boy Scouts of America, and Eileen Banker, right, who is chief of staff for State Assemblyman Steve Hawley.

Photo by Cathy Legacy – Neveya Barnes from Troop 82007 of the Girl Scouts puts one of the stripes into the fire with help from Brad Driesel.