Barker trio heads N-O All-League field hockey team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 12 November 2013 at 12:00 am

Photo Courtesy of Barker Schools – Barker’s first team Niagara-Orleans All-League field hockey honorees include, from left, Melissa Grosshans, Heather Mason and Olivia Denny.

Champion Barker has placed a trio of players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League field hockey squad.

The Lady Raiders, which captured the title with an 11-1 record, are represented by senior attacker Olivia Denny (6 goals, 4 assists), junior attacker Melissa Grosshans (10 goals, 2 assists) and senior midfielder Heather Mason (10 goals, 1 assist).

The first team is also highlighted by the selection of two pairs of sisters in seniors Kaeli Mathias (18 goals, 14 assists) and Brianna Mathias from Kenmore along with senior Claudia Stone (20 goals, 5 assists) and eighth grader Abigail Stone from Akron.

Rounding out the first team are Medina senior midfielder Mallori Wienke (6 goals), Roy-Hart junior midfielder Casidhe Heschke, Newfane senior forward Morgan Bedford (10 goals, 4 assists) and Wilson senior attacker Michelle Myers (14 goals, 2 assists).

Denny, Kaeli Mathias, Brianna Mathias, Claudia Stone, Bedford and Myers are all repeat selections.

Barker also has a trio of second team honorees including senior attacker Brooke Bodine along with junior midfielders Morgan Brown and Alexander VeRost.

The second team also includes Kenmore seniors Adrianna King (midfield) and Lindsey Palame (forward), Akron seniors Gabrielle King (midfield) and Dakota Earle (midfield) along with Roy-Hart freshman forward Rielly Albee, Medina senior defender Kelsey Evoy, Newfane junior midfielder Leah Good and Wilson senior midfielder Cassandra Carr.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – First team members of the Niagara-Orleans All-League field hockey squad also include, in front from left, Morgan Bedford (Newfane), Michelle Myers (Wilson), Mallori Wienke (Medina) and Casidhe Heschke (Roy-Hart). In back are Abigail Stone and Claudia Stone from Akron along with Kaeli Mathias and Brianna Mathias from Kenmore.

Medina also had senior defender Lindsey Hill and sophomore midfielder Stella Russo receive honorable mention

Roy-Hart’s quartet of senior Shelby Smith (defense), juniors Deanna Catalano (midfield) and Kelsey Eldridge (midfield) and freshman Angelina Ciarfella (forward) likewise received honorable mention as did the Barker quintet of juniors Kelsey Blackley (attack) and Gabby Clare (attack) along with sophomores Madison Greenwald (defense), Erika Moeller (midfield) and Caitlyn Mason (goalie).

N-O All-League Field Hockey Squad

First Team
Barker – Olivia Denny (Sr., Attack)
Barker – Melissa Grosshans (Jr., Attack)
Barker – Heather Mason (Sr., Midfield)
Kenmore – Kaeli Mathias (Sr., Forward)
Kenmore – Brianna Mathias (Sr., Defense)
Akron – Claudia Stone (Sr., Forward)
Akron – Abigail Stone (8th, Forward)
Roy-Hart – Casidhe Heschke (Jr., Midfield)
Newfane – Morgan Bedford (Sr., Forward)
Wilson – Michelle Myers (Sr., Attack)
Medina – Mallori Wienke (Sr., Midfield)

Second Team
Barker – Brooke Bodine (Sr., Attack)
Barker – Morgan Brown (Jr., Midfield)
Barker – Alexandra VeRost (Jr,. Midfield)
Kenmore – Adrianna King (Sr,. Midfield)
Kenmore – Lindsey Palame (Sr., Forward)
Akron – Gabrielle Hill (Sr., Midfield)
Akron – Dakota Earle (Sr., Midfield)
Roy-Hart – Rielly Albee (Fr,. Forward)
Newfane – Leah Good (Jr., Midfield)
Wilson – Cassandra Carr (Sr., Midfield)
Medina – Kelsey Evoy (Sr., Defense)

Honorable Mention
Barker – Kelsey Blackley (Jr., Attack), Gabby Clare (Jr., Attack), Madison Greenwald (So., Defense), Erika Moeller (So. , Midfielder), Caitlyn Mason (So., Goalie).
Kenmore – Sam Dellapenta (Sr., Defense), Lindsay Andrews (Sr., Defense), MacKenzie Hadaway (Sr., Goalie).
Akron – Loriann Blenker (Jr., Halfback), Bailey Clouse (Sr., Midfield).
Roy-Hart – Deanna Catalano (Jr., Midfield), Shelby Smith (Sr., Defense), Angelina Ciarfella (Fr., Forward), Kelsey Eldridge (Jr., Midfield).
Newfane – Katie Kneeland (So., Midfield), Leah Burns (Sr., Defense), Samantha Summers (Sr., Goalie).
Wilson – Maria Walck (Sr., Midfield), Rachael Cobo (So., Attack), Courtney Wheeler (So., Midfield).
Medina – Stella Russo (So., Midfield), Lindsey Hill (Sr., Defense).