Barker trio heads the first team of the N-O All-League field hockey squad

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 14 November 2018 at 10:03 am

Contributed photos – Barker’s first team honorees include, from left, Madison Gancasz, Katrina Clare and Ciara Gregoire

Three players from champion Barker (11-1) head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League field  hockey squad.

The Lady Raiders, who went on to capture both the Class C Section VI and Far West Regional titles, are represented by juniors Katrina Clare and Ciara Gregoire and sophomore Madison Gancasz.

Roy-Hart’s first team honorees are RayLynn Chraston and Lexi Lovewell.

A repeat honoree, Clare, who was also named N-O Player of the Year, scored 30 goals this season.

Runner-up Roy-Hart (10-2) has placed seniors Alexis Lovewell and RayLynn Chraston on the first team.

Third place finisher Akron (8-4) is represented by senior Olivia Diebel and junior Alexis Bell.

Lovewell and Diebel are both repeat selections.

Bell scored 20 goals this season, Lovewell 14 and Diebel 13.

Rounding out the first team are Medina senior Guin Schalck, Newfane junior Madison Klumpp, Wilson senior Hannah Day and Kenmore/City Honor’s Kasey Jo Phibbs.

Akron’s honorees are Alexis Bell and Olivia Diebel.

Schalck, a repeat honoree, scored 13 goals

Three Barker underclassmen also head the second team including junior Rachel Hurtgam, sophomore Lena Fazzolari and freshman Kaedynce Schumacher. Hurtgam scored 12 goals.

The second team also includes Roy-Hart senior Jamie Bower and junior Sam Choate, Medina senior Sarah Cochrane, Akron senior Adrianna Munio and Newfane senior Nicole Leverentz. Cochrane scored 10 goals.

The Honorable Mention honorees, listed by school, are as follows:

Barker – Paige Sandolfini, Sr.; Natalie Bruning, So.; Emily Wagner, Jr.

Roy-Hart – Ashley Hill, Sr.; Holly DiMayo, Sr.; Jenna Heiser, Sr.; Abby Ander, Jr.; Miah Glena, So.

Akron – Jordan Nadler, Jr.; Lydia Blueye, So.

Medina – Libby Cook, Sr.; Mary Flores, Jr.; Lacey Kenward, Jr.; Grace Cook, Jr.; Alissa Blount, Sr.; Jessica Granchelli, Sr.

Newfane – Elizabeth Klumpp, Jr.

Wilson – Anna Meyers, So.; Kaylie Kress, Sr.; Mia Olear, Sr.

The first team also has  Newfane’s Madison Klumpp, Medina’s Guin Schalck and Wilson’s Hannah Day.