Barker has two All-WNY Scholar/Athletes

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 4 July 2018 at 6:43 pm

Two Barker High athletes, Casey A’Hearn (track) and Kylie Miller (softball), have been named to the Section VI All Western New York spring sports Scholar-Athlete Team for the second time.

An athlete must have a 90 plus average for the previous six semesters to qualify for the team.

Newfane has a trio of repeat honorees including Kyle Jurek (baseball), Alexis Littman (tennis) and Nick Thornton (track).

Akron’s Stephen Wagner (baseball) and Wilson’s Mac Musall (baseball) are also both repeat honorees.

Three Niagara-Orleans League athletes are three-time honorees including Akron’s Margo Henley (track), Newfane’s Zach Lundy (tennis) and Wilson’s Madeline Mocarski (softball).

The N-O’s first time honorees include Andrew Buyea (lacrosse), Abby Stone (softball) and Amanda Swader (track) from Akron; Joanna Elledge (track), Nathan Johnson (track) and Shea Munnikhuysen (track) from Wilson along with Samuel Auernhamer (track) from Newfane.