Barker cagers head N-O All-League team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 13 March 2014 at 12:00 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman  – Roy-Hart’s Alex Stoddard, left, and Medina’s Munjie Brown have been named to the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League boys basketball squad.

Undefeated champion Barker has placed two players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League boys basketball squad.

Barker, which posted a perfect 14-0 record to capture the N-O title for the first time since 1945, is represented by senior forward Jacob Haight (6-4) and senior guard Mitch Luckman (6-0).

The Raiders also have a pair of second team selections in senior center Bryce Moeller (6-6) and junior guard Christopher Sweeney (6-2) while their fifth starter, senior guard Hayden Gooding (6-1), has earned honorable mention.

The first team also includes Medina senior Munjie Brown (6-5), Roy-Hart senior Alex Stoddard (6-3), Newfane senior Josh Kneeland (6-3) and Wilson junior Kyle Bradley (6-3).

Haight, who became Barker’s career scoring leader during the season, averaged a double-double with 360 points (18.0 average) and 200 rebounds (10 ave.). He also had 85 steals, 84 assists and 37 blocks.

Luckman scored 289 points (14.4 ave.) and had 143 assists, 85 rebounds and 42 steals.

Brown averaged a double-double with 253 points (15.8 ave.) and 182 rebounds (11.4 ave.). He also had 43 steals and 40 assists.

Stoddard also averaged a double-double with 389 points (19.4 ave.) and 204 rebounds (10.0 ave.). He also added 58 blocks, 46 assists and 26 steals.

Likewise averaging a double-double, Kneeland scored 283 points (17.6 ave.) and grabbed off 202 rebounds (10.0 ave.). He added 49 steals, 45 assists and 18 blocks.

Bradley scored 314 points for a 16.5 per game average.

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Champion Barker is represented on the first team by Mitchell Luckman, left, and Jacob Haight.

The second team also includes the senior trio of Darrell Wesley and Alex Santos from CSAT along with Noah Diebel from Akron.

Also receiving honorable mention are seniors Ryan Fannin, Conner Barleben and junior Des Blackmon from Albion, senior Cedric Griffith and junior Jason Hellwig from Medina, senior Da’Ron Woods and sophomore Andy Xapsos from Roy-Hart along with Newfane senior Sean Costello, Wilson junior Evan Shank and CSAT freshman Darius Carson.

Contributed Photos – Wilson’s Kyle Bradley and Newfane’s Josh Kneeland have earned first team honors.