Banquet honors Tigers student-athletes

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 23 June 2022 at 8:44 am

Contributed Photo – Lyndonville’s senior athletes  include Roman Heinsler, Mohammed Mohimeer, Catelynn Kidney, Brynn Howell, Karlee Rounds, Gracie Johnson, Morgan Austin, Ella Lewis, Jack Whipple, Maddox Stirk and Michael Marker.

The presentation of a dozen special awards highlighted this week’s annual Lyndonville Tigers athletic banquet.

The Babe Ruth Sportsmanship Award was presented to Gracie Johnson and Jack Whipple.

Johnson, Ella Lewis, Michael Marker and Karlee Rounds all received the Tri-Athlete Award.

The Coaches’ Award was presented to Lewis and Whipple.

The Trevor T. Cook “Unsung Hero Award” was presented to Marker and Rounds.

Lewis received the “Bub” Meland Award, Maddox Stirk the “Doc” Layer Award and Johnson and Roman Heinsler the Alfred Schmitt Memorial Award..

The Harold Dix Jr. Memorial Soccer Award to Mason Nicholson and Annabelle Follman; the Mike Fuller Memorial Wrestling Award to Payton Grabowski; the Paul Howell Memorial Basketball Award to Rounds (248 points, 153 rebounds) and Noah Poler (343 points, 124 rebounds) and the Ted Hettig Memorial Batting Average Award to Addison Dillenbek (.608) and Trenton Muck (.429).

Several awards were also presented to student/athletes by team and they are as follows:

Boys Varsity Soccer: Most Valuable Player – Whipple; Coaches Award – Owen Mank.

Girls Varsity Basketball: Most Valuable Player – Lewis; Leader Award – Johnson; Playmaker Award – Lorelei Dillenbeck; Coaches Award – Rounds.

Boys Varsity Basketball: Most Valuable Player – Poler; Most Improved Player – Muck; Coaches Award – Heinsler.

Wrestling: Most Valuable Wrestler – Stirk; Outstanding Wrestler – Sebastian Temich; Most Improved Wrestler – Noah Neff; Coaches Award – Sam Doolan.

Varsity Baseball: Most Valuable Player – Muck; Most Improved Player – Marker; Outstanding Defensive Player – Whipple.

Varsity Softball: Most Valuable Player – Haley Shaffer and Lewis; Most Improved Player – Brianna Krisher; Bandaid Award – Lorelei Dillenbeck; Coaches Award – Johnson.

JV Softball: Most Valuable Player – Ava Austin; Most Improved Player – Kelsey Lemoi; Coaches Award – Katelynn Breeze.

Boys Track and Field: Most Valuable Player – Josh Slingerland; Most Improved Player – Kevin Travis; Coaches Award – Chyenne Tackley.

Girls Track and Field: Most Valuable Player – Follman; Most Improved Player – Elizabeth Whipple; Coaches Award – Arietta Metty.