Banquet honors Tigers student-athletes

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 10 June 2018 at 9:03 am

Contributed Photos – Lyndonville’s varsity spring sports awards winners included, from left, Zach Johnson, Anna Lewis, Natalie Ostrowski, Gracie Johnson, Miranda Lembcke, Chase Stinson, Reese Raduns, Evan Horn, Jonathan Slingerland, and Oskar Heinsler.

Lyndonville Athletic Director Lee Dillenbeck presents the Coaches Award to Miranda Lembcke and Brody Brown.

The presentation of a number of special awards highlighted this week’s annual Lyndonville High athletic banquet.

Miranda Lembcke and Brody Brown received the Coaches Award.

Lembcke also earned the Tri-Athlete Award for her participation in soccer (2013-16), volleyball (2017), basketball (2014-18) and softball (2014-18) as well as the Genesee Region League Scholar-Athlete Award.

The Babe Ruth Sportsmanship

Coach Shane Price presents the Ted Hettig Memorial Award (Highest point totals in baseball and softball) to Anna Lewis and Zach Johnson.

Award was presented to Bridget Barry and Thomas Culmo.

The Trevor Cook Athletic Award *Unsung Hero” went to Christopher Clark and Skyler Lear.

The Alfred L. Schmitt Memorial Award was presented to Lembcke and Brown, the “Bub” Meland Memorial Award to Paige Gardner and the “Doc” Layer Memorial Award to Luke Isaacson.

Coach Lee Dillenbeck presents the Paul Howell Memorial Award (Highest point totals in basketball) to Ella Lewis and Nathan Poler.

The Harold Dix Jr. Memorial Soccer Award went to Evan Horn and Grace Hayes; the Paul Howell Memorial Basketball Award to Nathan Poler and Ella Lewis; the Mike Fuller Memorial Wrestling Award to Chase Stinson and the Ted Hettig Memorial Baseball/Softball Award to Zachary Johnson and Anna Lewis.

The U.S. Army Scholar-Athlete Award went to Cassie Maynard and Michael Eckerd; the U.S. Air Force Award to Richard Forder and Josephine Joy and the U.S. Marine Corps Award to Norman McDonald and Victoria Newman.

For the Spring sports season Most Valuable awards were presented to Savannah Poler and Reese Raduns in Girls Track, Jonathan Slingerland and Evan Horn in Boys Track, Miranda Lembcke in Varsity Softball, Lorelei Dillenbeck in JV Softball, Zachary Johnson in Varsity Baseball and Dillon Burt-Hodgins in JV Baseball.

Most Improved Player Awards went to Carly Woodworth and Bridget Barry in Girls Track, Conner Bell and Brandon Baun in Boys Track, Gracie Johnson in Varsity Softball, Kaci Wittmeyer in JV Softball, Oskar Heinsler in Varsity Baseball and Alex Barry in JV Baseball.

The following two sport scholar athletes were recognized: Alexander Barry, Isaac Becker, Jacob Corser, Grace Hayes, Oskar Heinsler, Erin Kiefer, Megan Krisher, Anna Lewis, Ella Lewis, Anthony Moule, Kaylee Nesbitt, Natalie Ostrowski, Cameron Paniccia, Prezli Silversmith and Jack Whipple.

The following three sport scholar athletes were recognized: Rolland Balcerzak, Faith Chaffee, Lorelei Dillenbeck, Nathan Dillenbeck, Evan Horn, Miranda Lembcke, Jonathan Slingerland and Russell Stephens.

The JV spring sports awards winners included, from left, Lorelei Dillenbeck, Haley Shaffer, Russell Stephens, Alex Barry and Dillion Burt-Hodgins.