Banquet honors Lyndonville Student/Athletes

Contributed Story Posted 7 June 2019 at 6:53 pm

Contributed Photos – Zachary Johnson and Alecia Hinkson received the Coaches Award at this week’s annual Lyndonville sports banquet.

The presentation of a number of special awards highlighted this week’s annual Lyndonville High sports banquet.

The Coaches Award was presented to Zachary Johnson and Alecia Hinkson and the Babe Ruth Sportsmanship Award to Nathan Poler and Grace Hayes.

The Alfred L. Schmitt Memorial Award was presented to Zachary Johnson and Anna Lewis, the “Bub” Meland Memorial to Natalie Ostrowski and the “Doc” Layer Memorial to Noah Heinsler.

The Tri-Athlete Award was presented to Anna Lewis (soccer, basketball and softball) and Alecia Hinkson ( volleyball, basketball and softball).

Anna Lewis and Grace Hayes received the G-R League Scholar-Athlete Award.

Anna Lewis and Grace Hayes also received the Genesee Region League Scholar-Athlete Award.

The Trevor Cook Memorial Athletic Award was presented to Kane Flynn and Stacy Buckland, the Harold Dix Memorial Soccer Award to Nathan Dillenbeck and Ella Lewis, the Paul Howell Memorial Basketball Award to Zach Johnson and Alecia Hinkson, the Mike Fuller Memorial Wrestling Award to Brennan Munn and the Ted Hettig Memorial Baseball/Softball Award to Nathan Dillenbeck and Chloe Stinson.

Noah Heinsler and Hannah Despard received the U.S. Army Scholar-Athlete Award and Matthew Hess and Cassidy Boyce the U.S. Marine Corps Award.

Most Valuable Player Awards were presented to Grace Hayes (Varsity Girls Soccer), Natalie Ostrowski (Varsity Girls Volleyball), Steven Kage (Varsity Boys Volleyball), Kortney Boyce (JV Girls Soccer), Lorelei Dillenbeck (JV Girls Volleyball and JV Girls Basketball), Russell Stephens (JV Boys Soccer), Zach Johnson (Varsity Boys Basketball), Alecia Hinkson (Varsity Girls Basketball and Varsity Softball), Becca Woodward (Varsity Cheerleading), Chase Stinson (Varsity Boys Wrestling), Noah Poler (JV Boys Basketball), Evan Horn (Varsity Boys Track), Erin Kiefer (Varsity Girls Track), Dillon Burt-Hodgins (JV Baseball) and Haley Shaffer (JV Softball).

The three sport Scholar-Athlete Award winners included Lorelei Dillenbeck (volleyball, basketball, softball), Nathan Dillenbeck (baseball, basketball, soccer), Evan Horn (basketball soccer, track), Devin Rounds (baseball, basketball, soccer) Jonathan Slingerland (basketball, soccer, track), Anna Lewis (basketball, softball, soccer) and Ella Lewis (basketball, softball, soccer).

Those student/athletes who received senior awards included Cassidy Boyce (volleyball, softball), Stacy Buckland (soccer, softball, basketball), Tanner Burt-Hodgins (volleyball, basketball, baseball), Hannah Despard (volleyball), Kane Flynn (soccer, basketball, baseball), Grace Hayes (soccer, basketball, track), Noah Heinsler (soccer, baseball), Matthew Hess (soccer, football, basketball, baseball), Alecia Hinkson (volleyball, basketball, softball), Ritajane Isaacson (volleyball), Zachary Johnson (football, basketball, baseball), Anna Lewis (soccer, basketball, softball), Paige McDonald (soccer, basketball, softball), Natalie Ostrowski (volleyball, softball), Nathan Poler (basketball, track), Carlie Russo (volleyball), Jonathan Schroth Jr. (volleyball, track), Evan Silversmith (soccer), Chase Stinson (soccer, wrestling, baseball), Chase Woodward (soccer, baseball), Carly-Grace Woodworth (volleyball, track, cheerleading).

Zach Johnson received the G-R League and Section V Class C2 baseball Player of the Year Award and baseball Coach Shane Price the G-R and Class C2 Coach of the Year Awards.