Banes rallies late to claim ‘A’ playoff crown

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 13 August 2022 at 1:54 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Connie Heschke of Banes slides into third base as Jodi Zacher of Jr. Wilson 1 awaits the ball during this afternoon’s title game at Jr. Wilson. Banes rallied late to claim the win and the ‘A’ League playoff title.

A big late inning scoring burst rallied top seeded Banes to a 13-9 victory over No. 2 Jr. Wilson 1 in the Medina Women’s Softball ‘A’ League playoff championship game this afternoon at Jr. Wilson.

Trailing 9-6, Banes exploded for 7 runs in the bottom of the sixth inning to claim the win and the championship.

Lindsay Chatt bangs out a hit for Banes.

Jen Masse banged out a two-run triple and Robin Blaun a two-run single during the decisive uprising which also included RBI singles by Rileigh McCabe, Grace Capstick and Sue Seefeldt along with singles by Kathy Allen and Connie Heschke.

Banes had grabbed an early 6-2 lead by scoring three runs in the first inning on a triple by Lindsay Chatt, a double by Blaun and a single by Jamie Chatt, once in the second on a single by Jen Masse and twice in the third as Lindsay Chatt had a home run and Jamie Chatt a triple.

Jr. Wilson 1 though came battling back first cutting the deficit to 6-4 with a pair of runs in the fourth inning and then to take a 9-6 lead with five tallies in the fifth. Liz Zacher had a two-run triple, Michele Crandall a two-run single and Haley Odell an RBI single in the fifth as singles by Chasity Chinn and Sara Flansburg ignited the rally.

However, Banes blanked Jr. Wilson 1 over the last two innings as Heschke started a key double play in the sixth inning.

Jen Masse, Lindsay Chatt and Sue Seefeldt each finished with three hits for Banes as Blaun and Jamie Chatt both had two,

Chinn and Flansburg both had three hits for Jr. Wilson 1 as Crandall and Kaity Miller each had two.