Ballot set for candidates for Board of Education at 5 districts

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 30 April 2019 at 4:01 pm

Kendall is moving polling place from school to the Town Hall

The slate is set for the May 21 elections for the local boards of education.

Here is who is running for the volunteer board seats at the local districts in Orleans County.

• ALBION – There are four candidates running for two five-year seats on the board. David Sidari is seeking re-election. He has served on the board for 20 years. Another incumbent, Wendy Kirby, isn’t seeking re-election. The other candidates include Joyce Riley, Gregg Boose Sr., and Linda Weller. Riley and Weller have previously served on the Board of Education.

• HOLLEY – There are two open three-year seats but only one candidate, incumbent John Heise. The other position will likely be determined by write-in votes.

• KENDALL – Chaley Swift is the incumbent and running for the five-year seat with no opposition. Kendall is moving the location of the polling place from the elementary school gym to the Kendall Town Hall. Voting will be from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

• LYNDONVILLE – Three people – incumbent Harold Suhr, Vern Fonda and Kristin Nicholson– are running for three open seats. Terry Stinson and Rick Mufford, current board members, aren’t seeking re-election to three-year terms.

• MEDINA – In Medina, four people are running for three open seats, including incumbents Wendi Pencille and Lori Draper. Kellie Schrader-Hurrell and Mary Eileen Hare are also running. Brenda Lindsay isn’t seeking re-election.

The candidates with the two highest number of votes will receive a three-year term and the candidate with the third most votes will receive a two-year term.

Return to top