Class B football lineup again has new look

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 12 March 2019 at 4:41 pm

Just as has been the case almost every year for the past decade the lineup for the Section VI Class B football divisions will again have a new look this fall.

This year the 20 Class B teams look to be divided into four enrollment based divisions of five teams each.

Albion will be in the B3 Division along with Olean, Springville, Lackawanna and Depew.

The Medina/Lyndonville/Barker team will be in the B2 Division along with Iroquois, Dunkirk, Maryvale and Maritime/Health Sciences.

The B1 Division will include Lake Shore, Pioneer, Cheektowaga, East Aurora/Holland and Lew-Port while the B4 Division will have Newfane, Tonawanda, Alden, Eden/North Collins and Burgard.

The seven game regular season will include four divisional contests and three Class B crossover games.

Albion and Medina will meet on the regular season ending rivalry weekend.

Last year, the 20 Class B teams were divided into three divisions (two comprising 7 teams and one of 6 teams). Albion and Medina were in the B2 Division along with Olean, Depew, Springville and Lackawanna.

The football schedule is slated to be finalized next week.