Award winners announced for Parade of Lights in Medina

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 28 November 2021 at 5:40 pm

Photos by Tom Rivers

MEDINA – The Parade of Lights Committee in Medina has announced the winners in the 13th annual Parade of Lights on Saturday, which included about 40 entries.

The Metz’s Family Christmas (shown above) was named the grand champion and won the $500 top prize. The Metz’s Family Christmas is a first-time winner. The Medina Railroad Museum was the grand champion the previous two years.

The float for the Metz’s Family Christmas is shown in the staging and setup area at the Olde Pickle Factory before the start of the parade.

The Parade of Lights Committee gives out about $4,000 in prizes. Other winners included:

Best in Class –  The Medina Misfits

Fire Company – Shelby Fire Company

The Shelby Fire Company pulled a trailer with a Christmas tree and sent a message: “Reduce the risk of a fire, WATER YOUR TREE!”

Not-For-Profit- Knights-Kaderli Memorial Fund

Business – Party Tents Plus

Religious – Community Fellowship Church

Service Clubs – Roy-Hart FFA with a Buffalo Bills themed float

Star Award (for creativity) – Boy Scout Troop 28 in Medina with an aqua theme to promote the group’s trip to Florida to earn badges

Santa’s Pick (award the committee felt Santa would like the best) – Orleans County 4-H Heelers Dog Club

Little Elf Award (entry that best utilized youth in their entry) – Cub Pack 18 in Gasport

Community Spirit  (entry that best represented their community) – Case-Nic Cookies

“Congratulations to all of these winners and our most sincere thanks for all the hard work represented in every entry!!” the committee stated in announcing the top floats.

The Parade of Lights Committee for 2021 includes: Jim Hancock, Mark Irwin, David Miller, Gail Miller, Duane Payne, Pat Payne, Jeff Wagner, Betty Rogowski, Reinhard Rogowski, David Stacey, Kathie Valley and Jake Hebdon.