Schools earn state academic/athletic honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 17 August 2019 at 3:38 pm

Five area high school athletic programs have earned New York State Public High School Athletic Association School of Excellence Awards for the 2018-19 academic year.

The honored schools include Medina, Roy-Hart and Wilson from the Niagara-Orleans League and Holley and Byron-Bergen from the Genesee Region League.

To earn the School of Excellence Award, a school must have at least 75 percent of its varsity teams qualify for and receive a Scholar-Athlete Team Award. A team must have its players have a composite academic average of at least 90 to earn the Scholar-Athlete Team Award.