Annual N-O vs. G-R Senior basketball doubleheader Friday at Albion

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 11 March 2020 at 9:50 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Kendall’s Brittney Marks and Albion’s Xavier Cornick will be among the participants in the annual Niagara-Orleans League vs. Genesee Region League doubleheader Friday at Albion.

The 21st annual Niagara-Orleans League vs. Genesee Region League senior basketball doubleheader will be held on Friday at Albion.

The girls game will be held at 5 p.m. with the boys contest to follow at 6:30.

The N-O holds a 12-8 series lead in both the boys and girls competition.

However, the G-R swept both games last year winning the girls contest 68-52 and the boys 105-72.

In fact, the G-R has won the last three boys games and three of the last four girls contests.

The N-O girls lineup will include Paige Derisley and Kendall Derisley from Albion, Julie Porter and Nodia Osby from Medina, Kylie Annable and Serena Harris from Barker, along with Skylar Munnikhuysen, Izzuy Dinse, Anna Frerichs and Trisha Manchester from Wilson.

The roster for the G-R girls includes Savannah Poler from Lyndonville, Olivia Radford from Holley, Brittney Marks and Katie Pearson from Kendall, Brianna Smith from Oakfield-Alabama, McKennzie Nichols from Alexander, Montana Weidman and Morgan Rhodes from Notre Dame, Lauryn Engle from Elba, Jenna LaMere and Lindsey Clar from Wheatland-Chili, Casey Wurtz, Dekari Moss and MacKenna Johnson from Pembroke and Julianna Amesbury, Kelsey Fuller and Miriam Tardy from Byron-Bergen.

The lineup for the N-O boys squad will include Deyonci Farley, Kevin Hillman, Liam Ward, Xavier Cornick and Michael DiCureia from Albion, Reed Albee and Canyon Wood from Roy-Hart, Gage Willis from Akron, Luke Bradley and Alex Martinez from Wilson and Garrett Srock, Josh Everett and Connor MacEvoy from Newfane.

The roster for the G-R boys team will include Nathan Hydock from Lyndonville, Carson Major from Holley, Noah Godzala from Pembroke, Collin O’Halloran and Colton Dillon from Elba, Joey Burdick from Oakfield-Alabama, Tyler Meyer and Frank Bisceglie from Attica, Alexander Brumsted and Chad Green from Byron-Bergen, Gabe MacDonald from Notre Dame and Bryce Davis from Alexander.