Albion wrestlers eye run for N-O title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 26 November 2018 at 2:30 pm

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Albion’s large veteran contingent includes, in front, Myles Brewer, Ryan Grandy, Cody Wilson and Mahki Rivera. In back are Ugene Harrison, Chase Carleton, Mitchell Knaak, Addison Christ, Jessy Cruz and Ben Restivo. Missing from the photo is Donamic Farley.

Anchored by the return of nearly a dozen regulars, Albion is taking aim at ending a 15 year long league wrestling championship drought as the Purple Eagles begin the quest for a Niagara-Orleans title at Akron on Wednesday (6 p.m.)

“We have high expectations,” said Coach Pat Uveino of his large 44 member squad. “We’ve got a lot of key returners and a lot of good young guys so we’re looking to build from what we had last year.”

Albion, which last claimed the N-O crown during the 2003-04 season, went 3-2 in N-O dual meet competition finishing behind champion Newfane (5-0) and runner-up Akron (4-1).

A quartet of All-League meet place finishers including Ben Restivo (2nd place), Jessy Cruz (3rd), Donamic Farley (3rd) and Ugene Harrison (3rd), all seniors, head Albion’s veteran contingent  which also includes seniors Myles Brewer, Ryan Grandy, Mitchell Knaak and Addison Christ along with juniors Cody Wilson, Mahki Rivera and Chase Carleton.

Restivo, who went 35-8, also placed third at the Class Tournament and fourth at the sectionals. Farley went 31-12, Wilson 28-10 and Cruz 24-16. The each placed fourth at the class tournament.

The Purple Eagles graduation losses include N-O champion Preston Flugel along with third place finishers Hunter Albright and Tim Wells.

November: – 28: at Akron, 6 p.m.
December: 1 – at Byron-Bergen Tournament, 9 a.m.; 5 – at Wilson, 6 p.m.; 8 – at St. Mary’s Tournament, 9 a.m.; 12 – at Medina, 6 p.m.; 14 – at Alexander, 6 p.m; 19 – Roy-Hart/Barker, 5 p.m.; 21 – Byron-Bergen, 6 p.m.; 29 – at Akron Tournament, 8:45 a.m.
January: 5 – at Alexander Tournament, 9 a.m.; 9 – Newfane, 6 p.m.; 12 – N-O All-League Tournament, 19 – at Lancaster Tourament, 9 a.m.; 26 – at Medina Tournament, 9 a.m.