Albion trio heads N-O All-League volleyball team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 19 November 2014 at 12:00 am

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Champion Albion is represented on the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League volleyball squad by this trio of, from left, Kelsee Soule, Chanyce Powell and Meghan Hurley.

A trio of players from champion Albion heads the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League volleyball squad.

The Purple Eagles trio includes juniors Kelsee Soule and Meghan Hurley and sophomore Chanyce Powell. Soule is a repeat honoree.

The first team also includes Medina’s Nicole Blount, Newfane’s Erica Wright and Wilson’s Megan DiLaura, all seniors.

Soule had 182 spiking kills, 250 digs, 62 service aces and 22 assists on the season while Hurley had 268 assists, 169 digs, 65 kills, 40 aces and 19 blocks and Powell 148 kills, 67 blocks, 99 digs and 47 aces. Blount had 172 kills and 66 aces on the season. Wright had 227 digs, 183 kills and 71 aces.

Contributed Photos – The first team also includes, from left, Wilson’s Megan DiLaura, Medina’s Nicole Blount and Newfane’s Erica Wright.

Albion, which captured a second straight N-O title with a 12-0 record, also had senior Sara Millspaugh earn second team honors. She had 100 kills, 102 digs and 35 aces on the season.

The Purple Eagles also had senior Olivia Neidert and junior Aleah Foos receive honorable mention.

Medina sophomore Emily Kams also earned second team honors. She had 318 assists, 87 kills and 38 aces on the season.

The Mustangs trio of seniors Emma Ambrose and Brittany Schult and sophomore Molley Gross all received honorable mention.

The second team also included Roy-Hart seniors Malissa Maines and Ayleen Brewer, Wilson junior Ana Bryer and Akron sophomore Taydem Printup.

N-O All-League Volleyball Squad

First Team
Kelsee Soule, Albion, Jr.
Meghan Hurley, Albion, Jr.
Chanyce Powell, Allbion, So.
Nicole Blount, Medina, Sr.
Eric Wright, Newfane, Sr.
Megan DiLaura, Wilson, Sr.

Second Team
Sara Millspaugh, Albion, Sr.
Emily Kams, Medina, So.
Malissa Maines, Roy-Hart, Sr.
Ayleen Brewer, Roy-Hart, Sr.
Taydem Printup, Akron, So.
Ana Bryer, Wilson, Jr.

Honorable Mention
Albion – Olivia Neidert, Sr.; Aleah Foos, Jr.
Medina – Emma Ambrose, Sr.; Molley Gross, So.; Brittany Schultz, Sr.
Roy-Hart – Sara Meal, Sr.
Wilson – Samantha Ess, Sr.; Mercedees Rees, Sr.; Katie Myers, Sr.
Newfane – Vicki Harrington, Sr.; Madison Wolcott, So.; Taylor McGhee, Jr.; Maggie Kropf, Sr.
CSAT – Marissa Lettieri, Sr.; Francelis Dejesus, Sr.
Akron – Emily Hoerner, Jr.; Henryetta Jones, Jr.; Natalie Jonathan, Jr.