Albion trio heads N-O All-League volleyball team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 13 November 2015 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photos – Champion Albion’s trio of first team Niagara-Orleans All-League volleyball team honorees include, from left, Meghan Hurley, Chanyce Powell and Kelsee Soule.

Undefeated champion Albion has placed three players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League volleyball squad.

Albion, which captured a third straight N-O title with a 12-0 record, is represented by seniors Kelsee Soule and Meghan Hurley and junior Chanyce Powell.

Soule, a five year varsity player, is a three time first team honoree while Hurley and Powell, who are both three year varsity players, are repeat selections.

Soule had 217 spiking kills, 72 service aces and 298 digs this season while Hurley had 118 kills, 95 aces and 336 assists and Powell 266 kills, 74 aces and 69 blocks.

Roundng out the first team are, from left, Roy-Hart’s Bea Bacon, Akron’s Taydem Printup and Medina’s Emily Kams.

Three juniors complete the first team including Emily Kams from Medina, Bea Bacon from Roy-Hart and Taydem Printup from Akron.

Kams, a three year varsity starter at setter, led Medina in assists with 271 and aces with 55.

Bacon had 119 service points, 24 aces, 67 kills and 26 blocks for Roy-Hart.

Printup, a three year varsity starter for Akron, had 112 digs, 85 kills and 45 aces.

Medina’s Molley Gross and Roy-Hart’s Brianna Brewer, both juniors, earned second team All-League honors.

The second team also includes Wilson seniors Ana Bryer and Serina Jaeger, Akron senior Natalee Jonathan and Newfane freshman Faith Morgan.

N-O All-League Volleyball Squad

First Team
Albion – Kelsee Soule (Sr.), Meghan Hurley (Sr.), Chanyce Powell (Jr.)
Akron – Taydem Printup (Jr.)
Medina – Emily Kams (Jr.)
Roy-Hart – Bea Bacon (Jr.)

Second Team
Wilson – Ana Bryer (Sr.), Serina Jaeger (Sr.)
Akron – Natalee Jonathan (Sr.)
Medina – Molley Gross (Jr.)
Newfane – Faith Morgan (Fr.)
Roy-Hart – Brianna Brewer (Jr.)

Honorable Mention
Albion – Aleah Foos (Sr.), Ashlee Bocach (Sr.)
Akron – Emily Hoerner (Sr.), Taylor Jonathan (Sr.), Henryetta Jones (Sr.)
Roy-Hart – Olivia Vorholzer (So.), Savoy Laubacker (Sr.)
Newfane – Amber Haseley (Sr.)
Medina – Meghan O’Keefe (Sr.), Carley Schultz (Jr.), Je’ne Brown (Fr.)
CSAT – Aidaliz Ramirez (Sr.), Samantha Snashell (Jr.)
Wilson – Emma Okoniewski (Sr.), Amanda Culverwell (Sr.)