Albion trio heads N-O All-League baseball team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 18 June 2014 at 12:00 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Albion’s trio of first team Niagara-Orleans All-League honorees include, from left, Connor Barleben, Steven Stauss and John Warne.

A trio of players from champion Albion tops the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League baseball squad.

The senior trio, which led Albion to a 13-1 league record and a third straight N-O title, includes pitcher/shortstop Connor Barleben, catcher John Warne and first baseman Steven Stauss.

Medina, which finished in the runner-up spot at 10-4 has placed pitcher Matt Riemer and outfielder Josh Scroger, both juniors.

Akron and Roy-Hart, which finished in a tie for third place at 9-5, are also both represented by two players. The Tigers placed senior designated hitter Tommy James and junior infielder Zach Pfentner while the Rams are represented by senior outfielder Austin Heschke and sophomore infielder Andy Xapsos.

Rounding out the first team are Newfane senior pitcher Josh Kneeland and CSAT junior outfielder Nate Lambert.

Photo by Mike Wertman – Representing Medina on the first team are Josh Scroger and Matt Riemer.

Barleben went 3-0 for Albion in N-O action on the mound and also had one save. He struck out 44 in 23.66 inning and had a earned run average of 1.77. At the plate he hit .434 with eight doubles, 26 RBIs and 22 runs scored.

Warne, a four year starter at catcher for the Purple Eagles, hit .472 with six doubles, two triples, one home run, 19 RBIs and 28 runs scored.

Stauss hit .458 with six doubles, 15 RBIs and 17 runs scored.

Riemer went 6-1 on the mound with 48 strikeouts in 40 innings and an earned run average of 1.40. At the plate, he hit .468 with seven doubles, 21 RBIs and nine runs scored.

Scroger hit .360 with two doubles, two triples, five RBIs and 15 runs scored.

Xapsos led Roy-Hart at the plate hitting .482 with two doubles, four triples, one home run, nine RBIs and nine stolen bases.

Photo by Mike Wertman – First team All-League honorees include, from left, Zach Pfentner and Tommy James from Akron, Josh Kneeland from Newfane, Austin Heschke and Andy Xapsos from Roy-Hart.

Heschke hit .327 for the Rams with five doubles, one home run and 18 RBIs.

Kneeland registered 99 strikeouts in 52 innings and had a 1.43 earned run average. He also hit .442 with five doubles, four triples, one home run and 19 RBIs.

James, who had a total of 20 career wins for Akron, went 3-2 with a 3.50 earned run average. He also hit .308 with 10 RBIs.

Pfentner hit .469 with 18 RBIs and 17 runs scored.

Albion also placed three players on the second team including junior pitcher Austin Loyd, junior infielder Aaron Burnside and sophomore outfielder Trey Hart.

Medina is represented by senior first baseman Adam Hoot and junior designated hitter Shane Freeman; Akron by junior infielder Connor Riggs, Roy-Hart by senior infielder John O’Brien and junior catcher CJ Fitch.

The second team also includes Barker sophomore pitcher Brad Wilson and utility player Tanner Gregoire, Wilson outfielders Hunter Howland, a junior, and Jonah Miller, a freshman and CSAT freshman infielder J.P. Henry.

Contributed Photo – CSAT first team honoree Nate Lambert

N-O All-League Squad First Team

P – Josh Kneeland, Newfane, Sr.
P – Matt Riemer, Medina, Jr.
C – John Warne, Albion, Sr.
1B – Steven Stauss, Albion, Sr.
INF- Connor Barleben, Albion, Sr.
INF – Andy Xapsos, Roy-Hart, So.
INF – Zach Pfentner, Akron, Jr.
OF – Austin Heschke, Roy-Hart, Sr.
OF – Josh Scroger, Medina, Jr.
OF – Nate Lambert, CSAT, Jr.
DH – Tommy James, Akron, Sr.

Second Team

P – Austin Loyd, Albion, Jr.
P – Brad Wilson, Barker, So.
C – CJ Fitch, Roy-Hart, Jr.
1B – Adam Hoot, Medina, Sr.
INF – Aaron Burnside, Albion, Jr.
INF – Connor Riggs, Akron, Jr.
INF – J.P. Henry, CSAT, Fr.
INF – John O’Brien, Roy-Hart, Sr.
OF – Trey Hart, Albion, So.
OF – Jonah Miller, Wilson, Fr.
OF – Hunter Howland, Wilson, Jr.
DH – Shane Freeman, Medina, Jr.
Utility – Tanner Gregoire, Barker, Jr.

Honorable Mention

Akron – Caleb Martin, Jr.; Noah Diebel, Sr.; Will Warner, Jr.
Albion – Jason Downs, So.; Noah Preston, Sr.
Barker – Alonzo St. Louis, Sr.; Jake Desmarais, Sr.; Doug Bachman, Jr.
CSAT – Peter Grunzweig
Medina – Justin Morgan, So.
Newfane – Nick O’Lay, Jr.; Tyler Jurek, So.; Will Newton, So.
Roy-Hart – Andy Jacobs Jr.; Josh Baptiste, Jr.
Wilson – Jarret Johnston, Jr.