Albion school district honors retirees, awards tenure

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 20 August 2020 at 11:37 am

ALBION – The school district in early June typically has a recognition event for retiring staff, and also for teachers and administrators who are awarded tenure.

The Covid-19 pandemic prompted the district not to hold the event in normal fashion due to a limit on crowd sizes.

The district, however, recently held a celebration for the staff, teachers and administrators, separating the recognition program by building – elementary, middle and high school.

• Retirees – The following retirees were recognized:

Elementary school: Kelly Wadhams (1st grade), Lisa Werner (2nd grade), Lynn DiBella & Peggy Lemke (teacher aides)

Middle school: MaryAnn Jablonski (6th grade), Richard Shrout (counselor) and Tim Thornton (cleaner)

High school: Gary Simboli (Choral Director), Sarah Beckwith (cafeteria monitor), Valerie Rush (teacher aide) and Jean Swiercznski (nurse).

District: Sue Starkweather Miller (public information officer, school to career coordinator)

Board of Education: Chantelle Sacco, Joyce Riley and Gregg Boose Sr.

• Tenure – The following also were recognized for earning tenure:

Elementary school: Elizabeth Incardona (5th grade) and Maggie Orbaker (special education)

Middle school: Brad Pritchard (Principal)

High school: Elizabeth Hall (Spanish), Ann Sentiff (Science) and Jennifer Ashbery (Principal)

District: Derek Vallese, business adminsitrator

• Educator of the Year – The district most years also recognizes a teacher as the “Educator of the Year.” This year the Educator of the Year went to the partnership between the Albion staff and parents.

Return to top